We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain Price - Full on Decor - Lacks Extras”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Wonderful stay - Andrew in Peacocks very helpful. super room with view and great amenities both in took and in leisure club. first time ever cold towels in a chiller. It was quiet so not all facilities open.

They must have spent £10m on this although some of the. Grand rooms appear to have been lost - the bathrooms lacked a quality soap like Gilchrist or similar

Room Tip: book breakfast inclusive its not free even for Diamond members and ask for a castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHandHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the majority of your experience, including the service received by Andrew in our wonderful Peacock Alley area. With regards to the Salvatore Ferragamo bathroom amenities which are available in all of our bedrooms, I am sorry that these products are not to your taste. However please be aware that these are the preferred bathroom amenity for all Waldorf Astoria hotels, as well as the complimentary Nespresso coffee machines and digital alarm clocks with ipad/iphone docking stations.

Nevertheless, I certainly appreciate your feedback, and hopefully we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘Caley’ again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,339 - 3,345 of 3,745 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just back from a weekend break at the hotel had a great stay, all the staff we came in contact with we're very pleasant and welcoming had a lovely room with stunning views of the castle. Next time I'm in Edinburgh this again will be my hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Queen room with a view gives you views of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotlandtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. By all account it appears that we have more than met your expectations. Moreover, I am delighted to hear that you intend to return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Waldorf Astoria overhaul of the Caledonian Hotel gave this hotel a 5-star look and feel but it is a combination of the service, the Galvin restaurants and the beautiful spa and gym facilities that really blow you away and have us for one family, planning to return. We have a 1 year old daughter and she was made as welcome as anyone in the Guerlain Spa and in Brasserie de Luxe as an "equal" paying guest - actually she got treated better than us! This is our current barometer of good service and the Caledonian Waldorf sailed through with flying colours. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the taxi rank - especially if staying on a Saturday night. The Scots like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shootermcgavin1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you were able to make full use of all of our facilities within the hotel, including our Guerlain SPA and Galvin Restaurants. By all accounts it certainly appears that all were to your satisfaction, especially for your 1 year old daughter!

Hopefully you will all be able to return to the 'Caley' again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I would definitely recommend the Caledonian Waldorf Astoria
the staff are fantastic and go out of their way to help you and make your stay a memorable
one.The food on Christmas day was exceptional and was also great every other day.
The rooms and decor is outstanding.

JUST STAY HERE YOU'D BE A FOOL NOT TO

Room Tip: all the rooms are fantastic 275 is really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMCaleyWA, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read of your fantastic Christmas at the Caledonian, A Waldorf Astoria, and I shall certainly pass on your remarks to all of the team members involved.

Furthermore, I do hope that you will choose to stay at the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is in a good position in the West End of Edinburgh. Our room did not have a view of the castle and overlooked some offices. I could see into the office and not sure if they could see in the room. The is only a curtain, so if it is open people can see in.

The room was a king room but was very small. Two of us couldn't walk about at the same time. The tv was also strangely placed in the corner which you couldn't see from one side of the bed.

Heating in the room was from air conditioning which was very noisy - no chance of sleeping if it was switched on. The floors also creaked whenever anyone walked past outside.

The bathroom was quite large but only had heating from a towel rail so was cold. The bath seemed a poor quality for a top notch hotel. Towels and bedding were of a great quality.

Service from staff was friendly. Did have an issue with the Internet not working and was resolved by giving another voucher.

Breakfast was ok.

For the rates they were charging I would expect a lot more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin10779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Unfortunately however, you have obviously departed feeling somewhat unsatisfied with your overall experience, and I would like to apologise for the inconvenience which has been caused. With regards to the castle view rooms, these are allocated according to availability and in line with our business levels within the hotel. I can only apologise for the noise issue mentioned from the air-conditioning unit, and I will arrange for our maintenance team to investigate further as this is certainly not the standard that we aim to provide our guests.

Moreover, should you wish to provide us with more feedback directly, I would appreciate if you would contact Robin Stewart, our Director of Business Development as it is only through your feedback that we can improve on the service that we provide for our guests. Robin can be contact on 0131 2228890, or alternatively via e-mail to robin.stewart@waldorfastoria.com.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having booked on booking.com i received a phone call from the hotel confirming the booking and informing me that the spa was out of order, i told them that it was the reason i booked the hotel, they had an arrangement with another hotel and provided complimentary return taxi to the other spa. At night the street noise did travel up to our room, i guess it is a listed building and there is only so much they can do and they cannot change the windows, ear plugs worked for me. I think i would stay there again if the price was right but otherwise would probably look for something a bit closer to the main centre, i don't mind walking but it became a bit tedious. They let us keep the room until 4pm at no charge. It was for my birthday and I was happy with my choice.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank raniSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Overall, it would appear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us, and since your stay, I am delighted to advise that our leisure club has been fully functional since November last year.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Have stayed here several years between Christmas and New Year and had been delighted each time. It was formerly known as the Caledonian Hilton Hotel. For us it had always had the edge / something special / something magical that's left us wanting more. Knowing it had been rebranded and had had a fortune spent on it we were excited to be returning, expecting something really special. For us the magic wasn't there. Yes you could see where the money had been spent and yes it looked lovely. It was the small things that were missing. The Christmas decorations in the foyer; on the staircase etc. The staff - many had changed and what can I say, we missed them. Exceptions being the Corciege guys and David (who served us breakfast). They gave the little bit extra that previously made it special. This probably sounds overcritical, afterall the majority of the rest of the staff were fine - but we felt we were paying for more than fine. Room service slow - required to phone down a second time before our order was delivered. Breakfast slow - had to sit out in Peacock Alley for quite a while before getting a table. Breakfast itself was fine. The rooms, fixtures, fittings, robes etc were all luxurious. The upgrade of the swimming pool area and changing rooms were much needed and in keeping with the hotel. Location excellent. Overall the hotel was luxurious but for us the magic was missing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us over the Christmas period. Although I am delighted that you chose to return to the 'Caley' yet again, I am disappointed to read that you were somewhat underwhelmed with your experience. I would like to ensure you that I have shared your comments with the relevant department heads, including Marco Pinto, our food & beverage manager, who will be pleased to receive your honest feedback.

As mentioned, we do have a few new team members since last year, however I am certain that they will be able to add the sparkle again when familiar faces are remembered such as yourself.

In the meantime, I do hope that you choose the 'Caley' again next year should you choose to return to Edinburgh, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you require any assistance.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,924 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,918 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $186 - $765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing