We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Ranked #51 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“comfortable beds”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

A good location and recently furbished ,but even the new carpets have not been able to get rid of the squeaky floorboards!
Bath tub with a standing shower already needs attention!
You get a welcome letter but no chocolates-just two bottles of water.
TV is not in front of your bed,but to one side-check this point before taking your room!
Nice cosy dressing gowns.
We tried to check in early,but this was not possible.
Did not have breakfast-felt this was overpriced at £20 per person!

Room Tip: higher floors more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwilliamson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Unfortunately however, it does appear that you have departed feeling not entirely satisfied with your overall experience. I would like to ensure you that we shall certainly take all of your points into consideration, and I appreciate your constructive feedback.

Moreover, I do hope that you choose to return to the 'Caley' in the future should you decide to visit Edinburgh again.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,949
    850
    407
    166
    76
See reviews for
725
1,696
101
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stay in a lot of hotels, in particular with the Hilton chain.

I can honestly say this is the best Hilton I've ever stayed in, the revamp to Waldorf class has changed it beyond belief. The rooms are first class (at least the ones I've stayed in, and I've tried a few) and clean/tidy, the pool and fitness area really great, and all the other locations (bar, breakfast etc...) maintain that 5* status.

Also, I'm surprised about the comments regarding staff, I found anyone I interacted with showing the utmost care and attention.

This is a really, really great hotel (very conveniently located too, if you want that).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spangle2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. You have obviously enjoyed the time spent with us, and I am extremely pleased to read your kind remarks. Moreover, it will be a pleasure to share your feedback with our team members, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a great location. The staff were all fantastic, particularly regarding our 2 young children, it was great to stay in a luxurious hotel that was also so family friendly.

We were within a family party of 18 and nobody had a bad word to say about the hotel, simply could not fault it.

Room Tip: Beautiful scenery from the 'castle view' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I must say that it was a pleasure looking after you and your family, and I am delighted to hear that the entire party was satisfied with their experience.

Hopefully you will all be able to return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

First time visiting Edinburgh, from London. Great Location. Lovely view of the castle [from outside the hotel]. Great service from the front desk, quick and easy check in and out, friendly staff. The shared areas looked great.

However a standard queen room is so small there is only room for yourself, forget the ability to place any bags down anywhere. It is very small and claustrophobic, and no view means literally no view, not even a street, it means overlooking some pipes and a wall. I was shocked when i first entered the room as it was not what i would expect from a 5* hotel, maybe 4* or even less if you consider the view. It did not reflect the price you paid for the room, in fact makes you feel a little robbed. The room is also very noisy and you can hear everything and no doubt everyone can hear you.

I also had a little incident with room service who seemed quite rude and delivered an incorrect order and it wasn’t presented well- one of the orders was a pizza and they seemed to have ordered it from a delivery service and had just placed it on the side. However the staff at the front desk where very helpful with the issue and sorted everything out promptly.

Essentially nice hotel, but the rooms aren’t great. You could probably get the same room for half the price elsewhere. If you’re more concerned with the shared spaces, bars and restaurants this is a nice place to be. I must say that I was pleased with the front desk and staff’s general friendliness, especially the doormen.

I would give the room 0 stars for review purposes, and added the other 2 for general services.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere! chose a place with glowing reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. Unfortunately however, your experience was not to the standard expected, and it is with regret to read that you had some issues throughout your stay. I would certainly like to state that this is by no means our usual standard of service, and we shall be looking into the relevant improvements required.

Furthermore, I do hope that this does not deter you from returning to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Newly renovated Waldorf Astoria is a great spot for a visit in Edinburgh. Booked a normal room and due to my status we were upgraded to a Junior Suite. Staff was very friendly and we felt comfortable throughout the stay. Breakfast good, kitchen was prepared to cook me eggs as requested (Eggs Benedict instead of the usual fried or scrambled eggs). We also had a dinner @ the Brasserie. Amazing service and quality of the food. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: We had a 5th floor Junior Suite with Castle View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read your positive comments, especially with regards to your experiences in our food & beverage outlets. I shall certainly share your feedback with our food & beverage manager.

Moreover, I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the 'Caley' again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

If your looking for a grand hotel city hotel with history and comfort then this hits the spot. The hotel has undergone a £24M refurbishment recently and you can see where the money has been spent. Lovely public areas including the bright and airy Peacock Alley for pre / after dinner drinks.

We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend and found the hotel to be warm, friendly and perfect to explore Edinburgh from. Fabulous view of the Princess Gardens and the Christmas Market all lit up in the evening and great sunrise lighting up the castle all from our super comfy bed.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel but both had lovely eggs benedict in the Brasserie.

On arrival the bell boy helped with our bags and gave us good tips for our stay including the Farmers Market on Caste Terrace on a Saturday morning. We found all the staff to be charming and friendly.

We'll be back next year for Christmas shopping no doubt!

Room Tip: Castle view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am extremely appreciative of your wonderful remarks with regards to your overall experience with us!
By all accounts, I shall certainly share your comments with our entire team, and hopefully you are able to re-join us to partake in your Christmas shopping. We look forward to welcoming you back to the 'Caley'.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was our second stay at the Caley. Last year was during the refurbishments. Having returned this year we were pleased with how the place now looks. Peacock Alley and the Brasserie are lovely with a relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast is superb We enjoy sitting in the "Caley" whiskey bar for a nightcap. We had a Queen suite with castle view. Perfect, until you want to sleep. I would expect some outside noise from a city centre hotel but it feels as though you are sleeping on the pavement. The rooms(314) windows are not double glassed. Although three floors up, I could hear people speaking on the street below. This problem was solved with a visit to Boots for earplugs. However you shouldn't have to go to such lengths especially when the prices have gone up in the past 12 months.

Although we like the place the noise problem will stop us from returning.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHiltonCaledonian, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am however disappointed to read that you were somewhat disturbed by the noise from out with the hotel. I understand the frustration that this may cause, especially over the festive period when the crowds are larger than usual.
Moreover, I do hope that this experience does not deter you from returning to the 'Caley' again in the future. should you wish to return, please contact me directly and I shall ensure that we book a quit room at the back of the hotel for you.

Kind regards,

Chris Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,737 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,776 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
971 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Property: Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, or the "Caley" as it has become affectionately known among Edinburgh folk, was and still is the epitome of style and excellence. The large, rose-coloured Permian sandstone facade, quarried in Dumfries, dominates the skyline of the city's west end. The hotel has not only remained a focal point for more than one hundred years, but a symbol of the very best of Scottish hospitality. The Caley's pivotal position at the very heart of Edinburgh has always been its greatest asset. Created out of the 19th century railway boom, the five star hotel is looking to the future with confidence and pride in its ability to keep pace with the times. The hotel's reputation is as justified now as it was when the hotel first opened its doors in 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Edinburgh
Hilton Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing