We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic warm welcome and happy memories”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
No. 16 Learmonth Terrace
Ranked #175 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic warm welcome and happy memories”
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I travelled with my son for the October holiday and stayed 3 nights. Joon greeted us warmly and encouraged us to leave our bags early in the morning while we rushed out to explore. The room was large, spotlessly clean and with interesting artwork. The bed was extremely comfortable and my son loved the huge sofa bed for slouching on after a whirl round the city. Our private bathroom was sheer luxury – with power shower and smart jacuzzi bath, heated towel rail and fluffy robes to lounge in. Slippers were provided; we had our own fridge in the room as well as a welcome dram of whisky, Scottish tablet, shortbread and Joon’s speciality choc rock.
Breakfasts were top class. Joon would check the night before what we wanted and we loved her full Scottish breakfast as well as wonderful fruits, yoghurt and homemade jam. She was very good at catering for different age groups. She pointed my son in the direction of trendy teenage shops and organised a top hairdresser to cut his hair at short notice. She even asked her friend, a personal shopper, to drop round to recommend places to suit me. We really felt like we were in a 5 star hotel by the time we left. The location is very central so we could get to shops and see the sights easily and our room was very quiet with no traffic noise. We’ll definitely return and would highly recommend Joon’s home for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nosliwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
101
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2010

This is a great place to base yourself for exploring Edinburgh. We found the location very central and easy for walking everywhere. Joon had prepared a beautiful large bedroom with a very comfortable bed and bedding and many special touches like fresh flowers and a welcome dram on arrival. Her speciality choc rock was lovely, along with homemade tablet and Scottish shortbread. The breakfast is excellent too, continuing the homemade theme with delicious jams, organic muesli and any variation on a Scottish breakfast you could want. Even the porridge (which we don’t usually go for) was creamy. We had it with Scottish fresh raspberries and the combination was wonderful. So was the coffee. We enjoyed a few fantastic nights’ sleep and sitting in the garden with an aperitif while fitting in many of Joon’s recommendations on places to visit and eat. There’s a true combination of elegance and warm hospitality. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Bill333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2010

To start with, the location is practical (you can easily reach Edinburg centre on foot) and the owners friendly. Both the bedroom and the bathroom are clean, big and nice: comfortable bed, sofa, music equipment and laptop with wifi, bathrobe and slippers, spa... it's like being at home, just maybe more comfy! The breakfast Joon prepared for us was the best we had in Scotland: very flexible, with excellent porridge, delicious scrambled eggs, tasty bread and homemade jams, a wonderful plate of fresh fruits and other delicacies... So go and indulge if you can afford the place. I have to admit that we only discovered it because we booked late and cheaper options were not available anymore. We don't regret it because it was great, but we payed £129 a night, which is at least the double of the price we payed for any other accomodation (among which very good B&Bs as well) during our 2 weeks in Scotland. Ok, it was Edinburgh in summer but still, not everyone can spend that much for a night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Our experience staying at 16 Learmonth Terrace was lovely, ideal and the perfect location. Arriving at this beautiful, grand home, we were greeted by our wonderful hosts, Joon and Peter, who could not have been more hospitable, warm and helpful. Decorated with an array of local art and artifacts, our large, gorgeous room was prepared perfectly for guests down to every detail-whether it was the tea and coffee tray with home-made chocolates & cookies, fluffy bath-robes or book filled with their recommendations for things to do in the city-
The breakfast (choice of traditional Scottish or continental) was amazing-breakfast just isn't the same anymore after our stay here. Above all, our interactions with our hosts-whether it was asking for directions or friendly chat at breakfast-was the best part of our stay. Joon and Peter are so welcoming and interesting and had gone above and beyond. Can't wait to go back and stay again!
Jeannie and Kelly, New York and London

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie-Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Large bedroom, great breakfast, comfortable bed, wonderful hosts, luxe bath, lovely garden for an afternoon cocktail, a beautiful home, and can walk or take public transportion to all sites; what more could one want? Peter and Joon were perfect hosts and very helpful with information about everything in Edinburgh and surroundings. We highly recommend 17 Learmonth Terrace.

Jim and Rachel Smith, USA

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelOctober212002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanco, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

After spending 3+ weeks in the UK - we finished our trip at this lovely Victorian Terrace townhouse. Our accomodation was spotless, bright with added personal touches of prints and artwork of several artist (our own mini gallery). Our full scottish breakfast was delicious and served by Joon.
Joon and Peter gave us detailed information regarding galleries, museums, restaurants - even transportation. By taking Lothian Bus #41 from No. 16 Learmonth B&B you will arrive on Princess Street where you can hop off and walk directly to the National Gallery and begin your day in the heart of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverbendTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

My husband and I had a short weekend break to enjoy the final few days of the Edinburgh Fringe and stayed with Joon in her wonderful Bed and Breakfast accommodation. The large bedroom with a settee for collapsing onto; television and internet access; home made chocolate cookies and whisky (or tea/coffee); enormous tasty and varied breakfast;large bathroom with bath and shower, large fluffy towels - nothing can be faulted. It is a brisk walk from the city centre and from the airport bus stop. Joon is a lovely lady for whom nothing is too much trouble. I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation to anyone making a trip to Edinburgh and wanting a quiet homely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conyersfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
10 Clarendon Crescent
10 Clarendon Crescent
#52 of 202 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 16 Learmonth Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 16 Learmonth Terrace

Property: No. 16 Learmonth Terrace
Address: 16 Learmonth Terrace, Edinburgh EH4 1PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
No. 16 Learmonth Terrace Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing