We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accomodation & hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
No. 16 Learmonth Terrace
Ranked #175 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful accomodation & hosts”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Edinburgh thanks to the lovely accomodation provided by Joon & Peter. They were lovely hosts from beginning to end. We were welcomed into the B&B by Joon & Peter and we continued to feel welcome the entire stay. Joon provided little touches that added to an excellent overall experience such as homemade choc rock, fresh olives from the market, little snacks to tide us over for dinner not to mention a lovely fresh crab to have with her sumptuous breakfasts! It really was a perfect stay and we found it difficult to leave. We would thoroughly recommend this B&B as the perfect place to stay in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
101
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had a really good time in Edinburgh. Joon and Peter were great hosts. It has been said in other reviews, but what really stood out was the little touches here - for example, chocolates on the bed at night, a little whiskey in the room on check-in, amazing breakfast, etc. I mentioned I wanted to try haggis and presto, haggis was served along with breakfast the next day. They went out of their way to make us comfortable. Bathroom was clean and well stocked. You have your own entrance/exit so you can come and go with privacy. Location is great too easy walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SierraNevadaPaleEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Joon and Peter provide a lot of special little touches to make your stay warm and welcoming. They have a knack for making you feel like an old family friend and a treasured guest at the same time. Our overall experience was enriched by chatting with genuine Edinburghers. Joon is a great story-teller, and by sharing her stories she made us feel like we were part of the local scene, not just vacationers travelling through on the way to somewhere else. We visited during Festival and received personalized service, i.e. practical help with sightseeing, directions, etc. A wonderful place and wonderful hosts. Wish we could clone J&P and No. 16 and take them with us wherever we travel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriskany, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed with Joon and Peter for 4 days and can only echo the rave reviews aready posted. The accomadations, location and food are top notch,but the real jewel was sitting in their kitchen, having breakfast enjoying conversation with them. It was if were were old friends. Their hospitality and attention to details truely makes this and outstanding B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimiwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great location and lovely hosts. We spent 3 nights here for an Australian School Reunion, Tattoo visit and the Fringe. Peter and Joon were really helpful in organising us a taxi to be there when our rather disastrous journey north caused us to miss the start of the tattoo and smoothed the rest of our stay with lovely treats in our room and delicious breakfasts. It was lovely to have our own entrance and comfy beds at the end of tiring busy and enjoyable days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Totally agree with the last reviews, this is a true gem. Joon and Peter will make your Edinburgh stay very special. They've created a lovely space (it's like having your own wee flat complete with own entrance) and it's in a very handy location for the city, whatever your reason for visiting Edinburgh. We were there for five days for the fringe/international/book festivals and, after a long day's festival reveling, it was so easy (& pleasant) to wander over Dean Bridge and home again. The bed's comfy, the shower's great, the aesthetic is pleasing, and we have no doubt that no two breakfasts are the same, as Joon caters for whatever your needs are. She can't do enough for you, she makes everything so beautiful on the abundant breakfast table, and she's a damn fine cook to boot (bit of a 'foodie' we suspect, but not a sniff of pretense)! All the little attentions to details mean so much - from homemade goodies next to the tea selection and sherry, to the laptop, to the rain ponches in the drawer. Only one point needs to be mentioned - the bathroom (luxurious, well-stocked, jacuzzied, lovely & warm bathroom, I must add) - is up a short (elegant) flight of stairs. Not a problem for us (even for use middle of the night), but thought it helpful to mention for some. Our stay at 16 Learmonth really made our first visit to the fair city rather special. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidanmatt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Joon and Peter's B&B in Edinburgh. We chose this place after reading all the great reviews and may I add that all of them are true. Joon and Peter are the perfect hosts and they gave us a wonderful time. Joon made a great Scottish breakfast and even made us Haggis on our last morning.
She gave us a packed breakfast on the days we were stepping out early to visit the Highlands and on ech occasion, the breakfast was fit for Royalty. She is very knowledgeable on local culture and sight seeing places including suggesting a visit to Oban. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was always warm and clean. The house is very well maintained as well.
5 stars for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RahulArti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
10 Clarendon Crescent
10 Clarendon Crescent
#52 of 202 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 16 Learmonth Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 16 Learmonth Terrace

Property: No. 16 Learmonth Terrace
Address: 16 Learmonth Terrace, Edinburgh EH4 1PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
No. 16 Learmonth Terrace Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing