We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient and Chatty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Filmhouse

The Filmhouse
Ranked #15 of 50 Fun & Games in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small, three-screened theater playing Scotland's most innovative independent films.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Convenient and Chatty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just a great old place to hook up with mates - even if you're not coming to the cinema. Gets packed at times, but if you bear it for a bit you might just suddenly find everyone disappeared into the cinema! Come for a cuppa, for a drink or a delicious hot meal!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    57
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good café, cool Borgen-event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice place for a quiet and cultural lunch, a good movie og maybe an event like the Borgen-screening with Sidse Babett Knudsen that I went to. Loved the place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mynameispaprika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I attend every year for the Dead by Dawn film festival. Love the venue and it has a really nice restauant/bar area. It is also a great place to pop into for a drink and/or snack if in the area as the children are welcome. Only complaint..no popcorn!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank caroleppster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lawrence of Arabia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Filmhouse does not just screen mainstream film releases but also more obscure and older films which are so much better seen on the big screen rather than the telly. The bar and cafe are also a relaxed venue to meet and drink with friends.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most wonderful time of the year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was the best day of my entire life. We went to see pocahontas with my 2 little cherubs, it was lovely. The film was incredible and we had a delightful time, afterwards we went for some food and all snuggled together. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a day out with their precious princesses x

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Filmhouse also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Filmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing