We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Independent cinema”
Review of The Filmhouse

The Filmhouse
Ranked #19 of 55 Fun & Games in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small, three-screened theater playing Scotland's most innovative independent films.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Independent cinema”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Filmhouse has several screens and special screenings. They run seasons of films of themes, such as foreign language. Regularly have films aimed at those that like older films. Large cafe which is popular with filmgoers, business people anyone that notices it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsPepperpot_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    59
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good for food”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

In a busy city centre a pleasre to leave the hussle and bussle and enter a good cafe/restaurant. Plenty choice away from the area filled with franchises.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW FOEST
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gem”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Filmhouse is a Classic, Arty and Fun, loved it and nice cafe, I saw Untouchables there and it was a great film, this type of Cinema is far more atmospheric than any of the Cineworlds, well worth an evening to the Flicks, go here !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reel Disappointment”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I expected this to be some 'shining star' of old films and matching surroundings. The bar area was akin to a soup-kitchen.

Helpful?
2 Thank NikWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Little Find”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife stumbled on The Filmhouse while leafing through an Edinburgh guide, we read about it, it sounded interesting but we forgot all about it.
On our first day in town we happened to walk past it and they advertised they were showing Rebecca which is one of my wife's favourites (though not one of mine).
We went on our last night and although the film itself wouldn't be my choice the Filmhouse itself, with it's superb cafe/bar and friendly enthusiastic staff is a real treasure!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MattMerritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Filmhouse also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Filmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing