We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Edinburgh
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Greyfriars Bobby
from $20.98
More Info
from $49.18
More Info
from $87.91
More Info
from $19.67
More Info
Reviews (2,870)
Filter reviews
2,870 results
Traveler rating
1,284
974
541
48
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,284
974
541
48
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews touching story dog lovers small statue nice story wee dog skye terrier faithful dog lovely statue heart warming story worth a visit national museum royal mile walking tour nose grave memorial master
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,870 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Easy to find as The Greyfriars Bobby Pub is tight behind this lovely little statue. It has a plaque telling the story of this loyal little dog. His nose is well worn and golden as all the many tourists touch it for luck. Not to be missed.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank itchyfeet2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2019 via mobile

Such a sweet tribute to a loyal puppy! It’s a statue of a little doggie that guarded its owner’s grave until he passed away himself! It’s in a nice area by a good pub of the same name (in a separate review), so if you’re in the area, it’s worth a visit. I wouldn’t go out of my way to visit just the statue itself unless you’re just really into the story etc. but it seems to be in a main touristy area so not hard to stop by and see the sweet pup!

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank TravelingMerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2019

Beautiful statue in my home city, being ruined by people touching his nose because they believe it's a tradition - it isn't. This is not a thing, people. It's spread like wildfire, and now poor Bobby's paint is continually wearing off his nose thanks to people rubbing at it because they think it's the done thing. The council repaint the statue, only to have it ruined again by tourists. He had a sign around his neck at one point, begging people to leave him alone.
Poor wee dug.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Moonphases6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2019

We went to the Christmas market and came here for a meal. Great service and a good table to watch people having photos taken touching the nose of Greyfriars Bobby! I had the game pie and my wife had the turkey pie, both were delicious If you like pies get to this place and enjoy We will definitely be back on our next visit.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Makingthemostofit66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2019

While there are so many things to see and do in Edinburgh, I admit seeing this statue was high on my list. The story and history are world famous and it is definitely worth a visit to the statue and graveyard nearby.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank crosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews