We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely old building”
Review of Parliament House

Parliament House
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.79*
and up
City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #151 of 399 things to do in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This elegant building, located along the Royal Mile, once housed the Scottish government until Scotland's union with England in 1707.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“lovely old building”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

A wonderful old building to make you stop, look, draw breath and admire. A very elegant building which blends in with everything round it and is worthy of you stopping for a look.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ollossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I am not a great lover of modern architecture, but this building was exceptional. Odd on the outside I must admit, but amazing inside. Flooded with light; interesting shapes and materials; a great debating chamber. This was a work of art and a working building at the same time. And we were lucky enough to have a tour of the building with a lovely guide.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanefromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,128 reviews
565 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 833 helpful votes
“Worth Stopping In”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were walking the Royal Mile and I thought it was worth stopping into the Parliament Building. Located behind St. Giles Cathedral, it was in the middle of all of the other attractions. The building is an historic structure that used to house the Scottish Parliament until the Act of Unification in 1707. Afterward, the courts moved in to occupy the building and that continues today. The major attraction inside is the Great Hall. It is an architectural sight to see with a beautiful ceiling and attractive fireplaces. The portraits and statues are added attractions. For those of us from North America, however, the interesting thing is to see the barristers parading through the Great Hall in gown and wig, evidence that the British judicial system takes the formality of the courts to a different level. Whatever you may think of the practice, the traditional approach is interesting and something that cannot be seen in the US. It only took a few minutes to step inside to see what there was to see and it was free. It was not at all crowded when I was there. I concluded it was worth the time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“What a place for a wedding!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a place for a wedding, the building itself is majestic, and reeks of history. I love the rooms in the building were people can get married and have civil ceremonies. Well worth a visit when you are in the city!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jsilverspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“don't enter”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

entry is positively discouraged. Have to fight your way in to see the hall now used by advocates to discuss cases on the hoof.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parliament House also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Parliament House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing