We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth seeing!”
Review of Georgian House

Georgian House
Ranked #32 of 399 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fully restored period house.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth seeing!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The entry fee is about 6.5£, which I think is worth the amount of history and information you get. If you are there this weekend (16th november) they are having re-enactments complete with costumes. Check the website for details. Unfortunately, we were not able to see this because we left this weekend. Ask the docents questions, they are very knowledgable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank annetteboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    213
    42
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Too little to see”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a museum recreation of a Georgian townhouse which is interesting in bits but there is just not enough information around. The rooms are staffed by volunteers which vary in their knowledge level. I was underwhelmed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Notstandingstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Authentic Historical Experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Located in the beautiful Charlotte Square, this house gives an authentic experience of how the upper class lived in Georgian Edinburgh. The staff here are very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. I highly recommend a visit to the Georgian House while visiting Edinburgh.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank meggiehoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Don't miss it if you have a national trust card ”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We have a national trust card so was really easy to pop in with kids for half an hour. Staff lovely. Interesting.........

Helpful?
2 Thank springerspaniel1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in New Town”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Although we were disappointed with the Edinburgh Castle, the visit to Georgian House more than made up for it. Located on a perfect Georgian Square, it was one of the highlights of the trip. It gives you an understanding of how the "upper class" lived in the era when UK was an empire....it gives you a history of the lives of the rich, and their servants, from the kitchen and wine room in the cellar to the dining and formal rooms of the owners. The staff (mostly volunteers) were extremely knowledgeable and engaging, full of interesting details about the property, and how the people lived their daily lives. The staff made is an extremely enjoyable learning experience. This should be visited with another house on the Royal Mile, which displays life in Edinburgh during the 16th and 17 centuries, and you will walk away with a great appreciation of what it was like to live, both rich and not so rich, before the time of electricity, indoor plumbing, telephones and all we now take for granted. A great visit...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GinoDaGusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgian House also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing