We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful with excellent guides in every room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georgian House

Georgian House
Ranked #29 of 338 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fully restored period house.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Wonderful with excellent guides in every room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I am very much interested in the Georgian period, so had to visit this place with my husband and son. Every room had so much detail. The introduction video in the basement explained the family that use to live in the property.

Every room had an information sheet which applied to that room. If you required additional information there was a tour guide in every room to help.

It was a shame the attic was not open, but, it was still brilliant attraction.

Helpful?
Thank peanut31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    184
    35
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
haywards heath
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful guides, informative film”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We liked this SNT property. The volunteers and staff we met were extremely helpful, and the property is well preserved and presented. The film is a highlight, giving a good description of life at the time. Very close to Princess St so don't miss it. Free to English NT members.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FASCINATING TIME TRAVEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The tour guides are very friendly and informative and the children loved dressing up in the period costumes. school trip

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WENDY I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you want to understand how Edinburgh developed, you need to visit the Georgian House. It is also handy for showing the difference between Regency & Victorian era which tend to all blur into the past. Watch the film first and then wander the house while the Lamont family who lived there spring to life. See the kitchen where the servants slaved creating ingredients for elaborate dishes before they even got to cook them. You will not be nostalgic for the good old days after learning there was no running water, no baths to speak of and only a rudimentary cludgie. Good area upstairs for kids to dress up, do colouring or handle objects of the day. Lovely staff on hand in every room to answer your questions. The only negative was that the gift shop is downstairs and we had to time to go back to it after spending much longer in the house than I had anticipated.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 22malone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top trip back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I didn't have high expectations but this ended up being one of my favourite sights in Edinburgh. Wonderfully recreates life in the Georgian era. The fascinating facts from the guides really bring this place to life. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank filmfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgian House also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing