We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Giles' Cathedral

St Giles' Cathedral
High St | Historic Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1RE, Scotland (Old Town)
+44 131 225 9442
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$38*
and up
Edinburgh Guided Walking Tour
Ranked #22 of 334 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: St Giles’ Cathedral is the historic City Church of Edinburgh. With its famed crown spire it stands on the Royal Mile between Edinburgh Castle and the Palace of Holyroodhouse. Also known as the High Kirk of Edinburgh, it is the Mother Church of Presbyterianism and contains the Chapel of the Order of the Thistle (Scotland’s chivalric company of knights headed by the Queen). Please do not book any tours through TripAdvisor, as they are not endorsed by the cathedral.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Is easy to get to and once you're inside it's beautiful and peaceful. Worth paying £2 for a photo permit because the stained glass windows are stunnin!. There is also a little cafe in the basement.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patsha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,530
    1,067
    231
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

beautiful building, amazing stained glasses and the outside surrounding deserves a closer look too! With a guide tour through the area you get to know amazing things about the Cathedral and what's around.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Beautiful cathedral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A nice cathedral... nothing too much on the exterior but the interior is definitely amazing! Love the stained glass and the structure and everything about it on the inside. My friends and I found it very beautiful. We just walked around and sat down just to rest and take it in the atmosphere. I bought some postcards to support the shop located inside - felt quite nice to write to my parents from inside this cathedral!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KKgirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria, ES
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Shows the soul of Scottish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is the main cathedral of The Church of Scotland and have beautiful stained glasses and many other furniture and sculptures composing the ambient, but the oddest thing I saw there was the names of battles and heros on the walls, so it shows the soul of Scottish, their warrior soul.
The worship of God and heros in wars are associated in this church and explain a lot...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank robsonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
265 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but austere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very impressive in its simple beauty. We went late in the day and I don't know if they have guided tours or not, we just walked around. There is very little signage other that the placards requiring you to pay a fee is you wish to take pictures. We would have loved an audio tour.
The windows are fantastic and overall I would recommend a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WileyPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Giles' Cathedral also viewed

South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 

Been to St Giles' Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing