We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Writers' Museum

Writers' Museum
Ranked #66 of 399 things to do in Edinburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Writers' Museum in the 17th century Lady Stair's House, is dedicated to the lives and work of Scotland's great literary figures, particularly Robert Burns, Sir Walter Scott and Robert Louis Stevenson. The rich collection of manuscripts, first editions and portraits is complemented by a series of personal exhibits that include Burns' writing desk and the Ballantyne Press on which Scott's Waverley novels were originally published.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a great experience in the RL Stevenson exhibit. The docent was so knowledgeable and kind! I learned more about Stevenson from him than the things written on the walls and plaques that go with displayed items. He took me around the exhibit and explained things to me, then left me to my own devices and answered questions I had afterward.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank heathery27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    98
    39
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A museum heavily reliant on volunteers, here is where you can soak up the literary history of Edinburgh. Lots of different artifacts and interesting details about the writers' lives and very knowledgeable and kind staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Notstandingstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It was worth it!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was the reason I came all the way to Edinburgh. It was quite hidden, but since I did some research before coming here, I managed to find it and it was not totally hidden. After all, a gem is always hidden. It you are a great fan of Robert Louis Stevenson, Robert Burns and Sir Walter Scott, then this is the place for you. I wish this place would house other Scottish Writers but then again, they probably have their own reason for that. Lady Stair's Close is quite near to Edinburgh Castle so if you happen to walk on the Royal Mile all the way up the castle, the Writers Museum is conveniently on your right. The stairs is spiral, thus steep. Mind your step!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nisahharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Daughter's pick”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our 12 year old surprised us with this being on her list of wishes to see/do while we were in Edinburgh. She's isn't at all a reader, so it was even more surprising. We did enjoy the visit, but it would probably be more interesting to fans of these three authors. We spent about 45 minutes there and it was time well spent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank imkaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“a hidden gem for book lovers”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This has reminded me I really ought to re-visit this treasure trove of good literature. Edinburgh has produced so much.

Helpful?
Thank Strollerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Writers' Museum also viewed

 

Been to Writers' Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing