We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good looking castle, but a little uninspired”
Review of Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.27*
and up
Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket
More Info
$39.40*
and up
Skip-the-Line Edinburgh Castle Walking Tour
More Info
$68.11*
and up
Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle...
Ranked #7 of 411 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Edinburgh Castle is a world famous icon of Scotland and part of the Old and New Towns of Edinburgh’s World Heritage Site. It was recently voted top UK Heritage Attraction in the British Travel Awards and is Scotland’s number one paid-for tourist attraction. This most famous of Scottish castles has a complex building history. The oldest part, St Margaret's Chapel, dates from the 12th century; the Great Hall was erected by James IV around 1510; the Half Moon Battery by the Regent Morton in the late 16th century; and the Scottish National War Memorial after the First World War. The castle houses the Honours (Crown Jewels) of Scotland, the Stone of Destiny, the famous 15th century gun Mons Meg, the One O' Clock Gun and the National War Museum of Scotland.
Sozopol, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good looking castle, but a little uninspired”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The castle looks great, and is a must-see in Edinburgh. Having said that; the displays were a little uninspired. Tons and tons of text posters laid out in a sterile kind of way. Some places didnt even have any explanations and you were led to guess. Wasn't all that exiting, and the most fun was looking over the city while standing on the castle walls. A great building, but they should have put more work into the exhibits.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34,156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19,769
    10,118
    3,364
    680
    225
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Heritage”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Visited the castle on a trip to Edinburgh at New Year. It is a lovely place with stunning views, definitely worth a visit.
Serving personnel note - it's free to get in so remember to take your MOD 90.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikk9392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hx
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Alot of military stuff.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

There are various military and regimental museums in the castle, after the first few it grew a bit tiring, but if you have an interest in that sort of thing, it's probably more interesting. The prisoners area was more generic, and very interesting.
The views from the castle ramparts are stunning, although it was very cold. As it was Good Friday, the cannon wasn't fired at one pm, which we'd been looking forward to seeing.
Due to numbers it was hard to see the Royal jewels.
On a day with good weather, you can probably send more time within the castle, sat admiring the view, but it was too cold to stay still for long.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cdaHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Castle fit for a Tourist”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

When i visited this castle with my partner we didn't have the weather gods on our side. This didn't deter from the amazing day that we had. History junkies would love this place as it is full of facts and information dating back many years ago. Any fan of the Royal Military Tattoo must visit this site as it quite amazing being in the place were all the amazing bands strut there stuff. Summing up this castle is great for all ages if you don't mind the walk and for anyone that loves High Tea there is a cute little cafe in the grounds that serves a mean hot chocolate.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rip-off !!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Edinburg castle is a beautiful old castle....as you will find very similiar buildings in the most old cities.
We had very high expectation to visit the castle by paying each £14.50 for the ticket and reading some of the reviews. And we were very disappointed!!!! I wish I would never get inside!! Nothing to see but just couple of old buildings which you can find a lot around the city and do not need to pay for that such an expensive price!!!! We paid for two of us £ 29.00 It is just disgraceful !! The most expensive 15 min.(you dont need more) I had in my life. Clear rip off! People dont waste your money to go inside just make some pictures outside of the castle, its more than enough!! xxx

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MarinaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edinburgh Castle also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing