We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edinburgh Castle”
Review of Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.47*
and up
Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket
More Info
$39.12*
and up
Skip-the-Line Edinburgh Castle Walking Tour
More Info
$68.72*
and up
Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle...
Ranked #7 of 404 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Edinburgh Castle is a world famous icon of Scotland and part of the Old and New Towns of Edinburgh’s World Heritage Site. It was recently voted top UK Heritage Attraction in the British Travel Awards and is Scotland’s number one paid-for tourist attraction. This most famous of Scottish castles has a complex building history. The oldest part, St Margaret's Chapel, dates from the 12th century; the Great Hall was erected by James IV around 1510; the Half Moon Battery by the Regent Morton in the late 16th century; and the Scottish National War Memorial after the First World War. The castle houses the Honours (Crown Jewels) of Scotland, the Stone of Destiny, the famous 15th century gun Mons Meg, the One O' Clock Gun and the National War Museum of Scotland.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Edinburgh Castle”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent nearly all day in the Castle, there was plenty to see and explore. Luckily we picked Prince Charles' birthday so we had a 21 gun salute as well, but it would be a great venue any day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19,338
    9,863
    3,232
    656
    212
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My partner and I were very disappointed with Edinburgh Castle. There is very little actual history left of the castle because the buildings and rooms have been modernised (the oldest I think we saw were from the1800s). This is a shame because we were expecting to see very old parts of the castle. Most of the rooms inside the buildings were rather modern (some even with modern pipework and plasterboard showing!). There are a lot of military museums which were of no interest and actually not really relevant to the castle. There are a lot of overpriced gift shops (at least 3) and I think 2 cafes. Obviously Edinburgh Castle is just a money making tourist trap. It was not worth paying £14.50 each to see very little history. The audio books were an additional £3.50 each and the Guide around £4.50 (I'm pleased we didn't also pay for these - the audio guide should at least be included in the expensive entrance fee). The best thing about the castle was the views overlooking the city. The castle itself was very poor - what a shame it hasn't been kept as it should be. My local castle (Carlisle) is much better (and cheaper) and it has been kept the way a castle should be - historial not modern! I won't be re-visiting Edinburgh Castle nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mirandaj2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The place to go to check out Scottish history”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

A step back in time. Great view of the city. The recreations of historic events were helpful to bring events to life. Recommend the audio tour to get a better sense of events.

Helpful?
Thank Bart0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Well, its something you have to do when visiting edinburgh i guess. Still, £29 for two was way too steep. An audio guide was £3.50 extra. Guide books are around the £6 mark. Feels like you are being turned upside down and shaken for all your money before you even set foot in the building. Then there is a full selection of gift shops built in, which detracts from the experience. This place is steeped in history, but i felt like it was all too much of a well oiled tourist machine. As for the tableaux displays leading up to the scottish crown jewels - hmmm.

Helpful?
1 Thank no_can_do
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but...”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Good to see because it's the one of the easiest access to the castle in Scotland but the price (around 14£) is not a good value at all (most of the castle in Scotland cost around 4/5£ if they are not free)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Benoit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edinburgh Castle also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Edinburgh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing