We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent morning of sightseeing”
Review of Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.06*
and up
Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket
Ranked #7 of 402 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Edinburgh Castle is a world famous icon of Scotland and part of the Old and New Towns of Edinburgh’s World Heritage Site. It was recently voted top UK Heritage Attraction in the British Travel Awards and is Scotland’s number one paid-for tourist attraction. This most famous of Scottish castles has a complex building history. The oldest part, St Margaret's Chapel, dates from the 12th century; the Great Hall was erected by James IV around 1510; the Half Moon Battery by the Regent Morton in the late 16th century; and the Scottish National War Memorial after the First World War. The castle houses the Honours (Crown Jewels) of Scotland, the Stone of Destiny, the famous 15th century gun Mons Meg, the One O' Clock Gun and the National War Museum of Scotland.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An excellent morning of sightseeing”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

You cannot leave Edinburgh without visitng the castle. If you can, buy tickets online before you go as the ticket queues on the day can be long (but do move quickly). Take advantage of the free tour guides which last about 30 mins as you will get so much more out of your visit. Try to be there at 1pm when the cannon goes off!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarrieBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18,962
    9,658
    3,128
    640
    208
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really Terrific-better than tower of London”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great castle with the Scottish crown jewels. History was well presented and overall this was a very cool place. I enjoyed it more than tower of London. Well worth the time and money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LEJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
282 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My visit to Edinburgh Castle exceeded my expectations. I was only planning on visiting for one or two hours, and stayed for over four hours. There is so much to see at this Scottish historical site. It is easy to buy tickets and audio guides, which I highly recommend having for self guided tours. Free walking tours are also provided. The flow of the castle tour is at your own leisurely pace. The grounds and buildings are well maintained. There are beautiful panoramic views of Edinburgh and its surrounding area. The various museums on the grounds provide an interesting overview of Scottish history and culture. The on site restaurant, tea room, and shops were all exceptional. Visiting the castle is a great way to spend a day in Edinburgh while learning Scottish history in the process.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely historic tour/ Beautiful Panorama- Pricey admission (£16)”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

£16 for an adult ticket gains you entry to the castle. We joined a huge queue and a bit further along saw a sign for "fast track" which required a prior booking. However we were able to buy the ticket using our smart phone and then go through the fast track. We saw quite a few people doing the same. This saved us at least 30 minutes waiting. We took a guided tour which was included in the price. I must admit I am not much of a historian or Museum fan, but the Castle itself is an admirable building and the views from within the walls are wonderful (providing you have the weather to suit). There are a couple of cafe's and a whiskey and gift shop within the walls. Many helpful staff on hand to answer questions.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Holmsey1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walney Island
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top Class Attraction”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This visit was just brilliant and a must for any visitor that has three to four hours ( or more) to explore all that is on offer. There are museums, memorablia and weaponary in profusion. This is a must see !!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Walney-Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edinburgh Castle also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing