We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Edinburgh
Open today: 10:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Royal Yacht Britannia
from $22.41
More Info
from $75.12
More Info
from $160.30
More Info
from $213.73
More Info
Reviews (21,848)
Filter reviews
21,848 results
Traveler rating
16,062
4,787
788
150
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
16,062
4,787
788
150
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea room engine room shopping centre own pace ocean terminal audio guide beautiful ship crew quarters other half scones top deck fascinating insight afternoon tea interesting visit fudge well worth the visit great attraction
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 21,848 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Visited yesterday, Sunday lunchtime, very quiet, good time to visit I guess. Polite staff on entry. The audio guide was a bonus, and very informative. Not as luxurious as you'd expect, and everything dates back to the '50's. Incredible to learn about who's been on this ship, and all the things that happened aboard. I guess you have to be a fan of the Royal's otherwise it might not be for you. We walked there from City Centre, took about 50 minutes quite a nice walk actually, got the bus back into town, took 15 minutes. The Ship itself is just basically really interesting, especially all the photos and historical artefacts on board. Get's my vote!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank H1731OAstuarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting The Royal Yacht Britannia, we are pleased to learn that you found the tour to be interesting and informative. As you mention, the furnishings aboard Britannia are simple and elegant as chosen by HM The Queen and HRH Prince Philip. Britannia was built in the 1950s in a time of post-war austerity. The simple and elegant furnishings on board create the intended feeling of a country home afloat. Indeed, as you tour Britannia’s five decks, you follow in the footsteps of Royalty, world leaders and celebrities. As you say, Britannia is easily accessible by bus with numbers 11, 22 and 35 travelling from the city centre for £1.70 each way for adults (correct change needed or use contactless) and 80p for children (correct change needed). E-tickets for the buses can also be purchased by card via the Lothian Bus M-Tickets app.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

This is a good afternoon visit, a handset is included in the price which guides you through the tour, very informative & a fabulous if pricey tea room!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank CyclingLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your afternoon aboard Britannia, and that you found our complimentary audio guide to be informative. Many thanks for visiting and for recommending us to others as a ‘not-to-be-missed’ attraction in Edinburgh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Arrived for opening at 10am. Very quiet, only one couple before us. Not surprising given it was mid January. i can imagine in July or August it might be slightly busier.

The tour was quite informative and the headsets gave much valued info on what you were looking at.

Surprisingly small, considering the number of people on board it would have had.

For drivers, remember to head for the blue car park, level E for the closest point of arrival.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank glasgowbigyin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Many thanks for visiting The Royal Yacht Britannia. We are pleased that you found the tour to be informative. As you mention, our Visitor Centre is on the second floor of Ocean Terminal shopping centre. If you are arriving by car, the Visitor Centre is on the same floor as Level E of the Blue Car Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Great adventure one that you don't need a guide for as the audio tapes are excellent and there are people on hand if you want more details. Shame the tea room was being renovated.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank HappyEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

It is wonderful to learn that you had such a great experience aboard Britannia, and that you found our complimentary audio guide to be excellent. We hope that you will return to Britannia with your complimentary Annual Pass to visit the Royal Deck Tea Room as it has now reopened following refurbishment and maintenance. Many thanks for visiting and for leaving us a five-star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

I do love history and found this a really interesting and enjoyable experience. The tour is extremely well set up and the audio guides easy to use and provide an adequate and appropriate amount of information . We were fortunate in that it was a cold and wet day and there were only a few visitors so we had lots of space and time to take in every detail. I thought the idea of counting the corgis was excellent and obviously those children present on this occasion were totally absorbed in this. The yatch is in really good condition but much smaller than expected. It’s hard to imagine how so many people ever fitted on it when on royal tours. Would highly recommend the experience. I’m not a royalist but this made no difference to my enjoyment. Where else would you have the opportunity to see up close and personal from another world and another time?

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank MargaretE13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Thank you for visiting The Royal Yacht Britannia and for your kind recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed learning about the Yacht’s unique history acquired over 44 years of Royal service. Our dedicated Housekeeping and Maintenance teams will be delighted to read your kind words as they work hard to ensure that the Royal Yacht is maintained to the same standards as during Royal service. We are delighted that you enjoyed our cuddly corgi treasure hunt- it is truly a hit for all ages!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews