We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”

Royal Yacht Britannia
Ranked #4 of 397 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Step aboard The Queen's former floating palace and experience this iconic 5 star attraction for yourself. Rated Scotland's Best Attraction for 12 years running and in TripAdvisor's UK Top 10 for the last 5 years, Britannia is one of the most famous ships in the world. Sailing a million miles on a thousand official visits, during 40 years in service, the Royal Yacht played host to glittering state banquets and official receptions, but was also home to the Royal Family and crew of 220 Royal Yachtsmen. Explore Britannia's highly accessible 5 decks with highlights including the elegant Royal Apartments, Crew's Quarters, Engine Room and stunning Royal Deck Tea Room. Highly accessible for wheelchairs and buggies. Open year round .Only 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre (local buses every 10 minutes - 11, 22, 34 and 35 to Ocean Terminal).
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very well put together exhibition and experience. You really get to see where the Queen slept on the boat and walk along the deck that Diana so famously hugged her boys on. It was so interesting and definitely worth the visit and the £12 fee for an adult.

Thank LouisaJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola B, Marketing Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Fantastic to hear that you found your visit to be such good value for money. It really is incredible to think of whose steps you are following in as you wander around Britannia. Many thanks for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19,560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tea room"
in 1,374 reviews
"engine room"
in 919 reviews
"shopping centre"
in 761 reviews
"own pace"
in 1,029 reviews
"ocean terminal"
in 778 reviews
"audio guide"
in 1,241 reviews
"beautiful ship"
in 199 reviews
"crew quarters"
in 177 reviews
"other half"
in 417 reviews
"scones"
in 736 reviews
"top deck"
in 254 reviews
"fascinating insight"
in 246 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 385 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 254 reviews
"fudge"
in 346 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 279 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 417 reviews
Filter

14,469 - 14,473 of 19,536 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just a few rooms to see on the yacht, with a decent tea room and gift shop. The entrance fee and tea room prices are also quite steep.

Thank cheesylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola B, Marketing Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Our complimentary audio tour allows visitors to explore Britannia’s five main decks at their leisure and view over 30 rooms, including all of the State Apartments that hosted many Kings, Queens, Presidents and Prime Ministers. Given that Britannia is officially Scotland’s best visitor attraction, our admission prices are very competitive and a family of five can visit Britannia for £35, which is substantially less expensive than other top Edinburgh attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a beautifully run and presented tourist attraction. The staff are superb and can't do enough to help. The yacht harks back to an almost different age of wood panelling and brass in profusion. Not a huge amount to see, but enough to fill a morning or afternoon, and certainly enough for our young grandson who also loved the audio handset. Avoid the bistro unless you like paying tourist prices. We went to Debenhams restaurant which offers a perfect view over Britannia with meals at a fraction of the cost.

Thank PamKirkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola B, Marketing Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

We are delighted to hear how much you all enjoyed exploring Britannia’s five decks. Thank you for your kind comments about our team - everyone is passionate about providing an exceptional experience for all of our visitors so your comments are much appreciated. Many thanks for your five-star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Loved our tour of the Royal Yacht Britannia. The audio tour was excellent! The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Arrived on the Majestic Tour Bus which offers a discount on your tour ticket. Would highly recommend a visit to the Britannia!!

Thank SGIgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola B, Marketing Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

The Majestic Tour bus is a great tip for other visitors looking to see the sights of Edinburgh en route to Britannia. It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the audio tour. Many thanks for visiting and awarding us with five stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Well worth a visit. Amazing to see the inside of this ship which I have seen many times on the news. I wasn't going to see it, but it was suggested by my daughter and I found it really interesting. Staff were friendly and helpful and the handset made it easy to follow the tour at my own pace. Spent about 3 hrs there, which was longer than I had expected, but didn't want to miss anything out. Before I left I enjoyed a cream tea in the tea rooms with a lovely view over the water to Fife.

Thank mags63_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola B, Marketing Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We are delighted to hear that your visit to Britannia exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff - everyone is passionate about providing an exceptional experience for all of our visitors so your review is much appreciated. Many thanks for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Yacht Britannia also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Royal Yacht Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing