We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top attraction”

Royal Yacht Britannia
Ranked #4 of 396 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Step aboard The Queen's former floating palace and experience this iconic 5 star attraction for yourself. Rated Scotland's Best Attraction for 12 years running and in TripAdvisor's UK Top 10 for the last 5 years, Britannia is one of the most famous ships in the world. Sailing a million miles on a thousand official visits, during 40 years in service, the Royal Yacht played host to glittering state banquets and official receptions, but was also home to the Royal Family and crew of 220 Royal Yachtsmen. Explore Britannia's highly accessible 5 decks with highlights including the elegant Royal Apartments, Crew's Quarters, Engine Room and stunning Royal Deck Tea Room. Highly accessible for wheelchairs and buggies. Open year round .Only 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre (local buses every 10 minutes - 11, 22, 34 and 35 to Ocean Terminal).
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a beautifully run and presented tourist attraction. The staff are superb and can't do enough to help. The yacht harks back to an almost different age of wood panelling and brass in profusion. Not a huge amount to see, but enough to fill a morning or afternoon, and certainly enough for our young grandson who also loved the audio handset. Avoid the bistro unless you like paying tourist prices. We went to Debenhams restaurant which offers a perfect view over Britannia with meals at a fraction of the cost.

Thank PamKirkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola B, Marketing Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

We are delighted to hear how much you all enjoyed exploring Britannia’s five decks. Thank you for your kind comments about our team - everyone is passionate about providing an exceptional experience for all of our visitors so your comments are much appreciated. Many thanks for your five-star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19,575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tea room"
in 1,375 reviews
"engine room"
in 920 reviews
"shopping centre"
in 762 reviews
"own pace"
in 1,031 reviews
"ocean terminal"
in 779 reviews
"audio guide"
in 1,243 reviews
"beautiful ship"
in 199 reviews
"crew quarters"
in 177 reviews
"other half"
in 417 reviews
"scones"
in 736 reviews
"top deck"
in 255 reviews
"fascinating insight"
in 246 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 385 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 254 reviews
"fudge"
in 347 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 279 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 418 reviews
Filter

14,488 - 14,492 of 19,554 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Loved our tour of the Royal Yacht Britannia. The audio tour was excellent! The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Arrived on the Majestic Tour Bus which offers a discount on your tour ticket. Would highly recommend a visit to the Britannia!!

Thank SGIgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola B, Marketing Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

The Majestic Tour bus is a great tip for other visitors looking to see the sights of Edinburgh en route to Britannia. It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the audio tour. Many thanks for visiting and awarding us with five stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Well worth a visit. Amazing to see the inside of this ship which I have seen many times on the news. I wasn't going to see it, but it was suggested by my daughter and I found it really interesting. Staff were friendly and helpful and the handset made it easy to follow the tour at my own pace. Spent about 3 hrs there, which was longer than I had expected, but didn't want to miss anything out. Before I left I enjoyed a cream tea in the tea rooms with a lovely view over the water to Fife.

Thank mags63_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola B, Marketing Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We are delighted to hear that your visit to Britannia exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff - everyone is passionate about providing an exceptional experience for all of our visitors so your review is much appreciated. Many thanks for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Before entering, you are given a very useful audio guide. It will help you understand what you're looking at and guides you from point to point. Overall impression that I would love to live the life of a Royal but not definitely a crew member. Still it must have been a idyllic life for the ship's officers and if those walls could talk, the tales they'd tell of world leaders entertained therein. Not a must-see but worth every farthing.

Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola B, Marketing Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

It sounds like you had a wonderful time exploring Britannia with the audio handset – it really does help bring the tour route to life and helps you gain an insight into those that sailed aboard Britannia. Many thanks for visiting and sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The yacht is interesting and the audio tour walks you through almost every question you could possibly have. But the real reason to visit is to take a leisurely tea time. There is a nice tea room with a great view. The prices are what you would expect for such an attraction (three pounds for a pot of tea), but you get a good value (my tea pot contained three cups of tea).

Thank FQP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola B, Marketing Manager at Royal Yacht Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We are delighted to hear that the Royal Deck Tea Room was such a highlight during your visit. The Royal Deck Tea Room’s design was inspired by the awning the Royal Family used to use to cover this deck, to enjoy cocktail receptions and deck games when she was in service. Today, the awning has been recreated and the glass walls allow our visitors to enjoy the stunning views, while being protected from the weather! Many thanks for visiting while you were in Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Yacht Britannia also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Royal Yacht Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing