We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch once again..................”
Review of Indaba

Indaba
Ranked #26 of 2,479 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: African, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Description: An unpretentious Tapas restaurant serving Tapas From Spain and South Africa. Yes, this is casual dining. Regret no under 5's. No Groups larger than 8.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Notch once again..................”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Third time at Indaba, and third time could not find fault with the quality of the food, the service, and the value for money. My wife and myself shared 5 tapas dishes:
Chilli Ribs, Cod wrapped in proscuito, Chicken Skewers, Garlic Mushrooms, and Choriso with Fried Egg - all were sumptious! It took an age to choose these 5 from the menu, as there was a large choice, and everything that came out the kitchen looked great. The standard menu choices were suplimented with a "Specials" board, containing another dozen or so dishes. Great value once again at just over £50 for the food, and a bottle of white and a large glass of red wines. Superb - we'll be back many times in the future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    145
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant run by committed staff”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We picked Indaba having seen it was amongst the top 5 restaurants in Edinburgh. Whilst it's a lovely little restaurant with staff who are clearly committed and hard working, it didn't totally wow us with its offer as one might be expect of such a hi-ranked place.

The food we ate was good though and fairly priced, with a large selection of tapas-style dishes available. If you want to be more adventurous, try one of the specials; Springbok was on the menu when we dined.

Clearly well liked by the locals, on the evening we visited a number of people looking for tables couldn't be accommodated, so make sure you book in advance.

Helpful?
Thank AberdeenEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“2nd visit - just as fabulous”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

On a typical Friday night - a great atmosphere added that extra something to the occasion. As before we went for a mix of menu items and specials and were not disappointed - the lamb skewers in particular were just amazing. If you are a local or just visiting, just book and go for a wonderful and informal experience. The price is pitched just right as well, so it does not break the bank.
Our fellow diners spanned all age groups, which is a testament to the appeal of the tapas concept and the quality of the food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wywanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Very Nice Indeed”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Thought we'd give it a go based on the reviews here and were not disappointed. There's a wide choice of reasonably priced food, plenty of different imported beers and friendly service.

The restaurant is pretty small, maybe 10 or so tables, so best to book in advance if possible. It's not flash by any means, but neither are their prices, so you come out feeling that your money has been well spent. It's impossible to get a sense of the size of the individual portions from the menu, but five or maybe six plates between two for the main course is probably ideal. We had the Trio dessert, as so many rave about, and really enjoyed it.

Given that it's not the sort of food we'd normally go for, the fact that we'll definitely be returning says it all.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brigadoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we've ever had!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Visiting Edinburgh from a place devoid of any decent tapas, and having read some very good reviews on tripadvisor we were looking forward to eating here - and have to say we were not disappointed and also very pleased we booked in advance, which we'd highly recommend.

Once we'd got settled with drinks we were given a very detailed rundown of the specials board, which was appreciated! There's a lot of choice and the difficulty was getting it down to the region of 5 dishes!

The service was excellent and the food - see title. Every single dish was really tasty and well presented, and the recommended 5 between 2 was just right. The setting is just right as well, completely unpretentious and just what you want for this kind of eating. We had a trio of desserts (crying cake, cheesecake and raspberry sorbet!) which were also absolutely fantastic.

So basically what's not to like? the food was amazing, the service was friendly and helpful and the whole meal was extremely good value. If we're in Edinburgh again we will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itsnotpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indaba also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Indaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing