We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to hear guide”

Edinburgh Bus Tours
Ranked #71 of 260 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop on - hop off and discover the best of Scotland’s Capital with Edinburgh Bus Tours. Enjoy unbeatable views and an incredible experience on board our five star tours. Explore sights including Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse and The Royal Yacht Britannia. Choose from multi-lingual commentary available in up to 10 different languages or let a specially trained English speaking guide tell you about their city. Hop on - hop off tickets valid for 24 hours give you total flexibility to explore. Make a day of it and save money with our Grand and Royal tickets. Grand tickets give you access to all city tours for 24 or 48 hours. The Royal Edinburgh Ticket includes a Grand 48 ticket, plus admission to Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse and Royal Yacht Britannia saving you over 20%. We operate every day of the year, except 25 December
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We took the green Edinburgh bus tour. The guide was friendly and informative (and we finally got to hear a good Scottish accent in this city full of foreigners!) but for some reason he was difficult to hear, and when he turned the volume up he got feedback and distortion. We ended up missing some of what he was saying, but it was still a nice way of seeing the city.

A little shorter than I would have liked- I recall it only took about 40 minutes to make the loop. The Dublin one we went on a few days before was much longer.

Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at Edinburgh Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Anna W

Thank you for your review of our Edinburgh Tour. It's good to hear that you found the Guide to be friendly and informative and that you thought this was \ good way to see the city, they views are unbeatable aren't they?

I am sorry you had problems hearing the guide, this is unusual. Can you email me the date and time of your tour and we can investigate further.

With kind regards

Elaine

Elaine Green
Sales Manager
egreen@lothianbuses.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"live commentary"
in 118 reviews
"majestic tour"
in 115 reviews
"hop on hop"
in 159 reviews
"hour ticket"
in 90 reviews
"green bus tour"
in 46 reviews
"grand ticket"
in 45 reviews
"horrible histories"
in 55 reviews
"city sightseeing"
in 33 reviews
"vintage bus"
in 26 reviews
"waverley bridge"
in 67 reviews
"recorded commentary"
in 45 reviews
"open top bus"
in 45 reviews
"your bearings"
in 53 reviews
"different routes"
in 46 reviews
"top deck"
in 49 reviews
"day pass"
in 24 reviews
"the royal yacht britannia"
in 66 reviews
Filter

2,048 - 2,052 of 2,482 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We travelled on the Majestic bus tour with a group of friends, some from America. It was nice to sit on the top deck as it was very hot and the breeze was lovely. We decided to stay on the bus for the whole tour as we were hot and tired but after that we did in fact use it as a 'hop-on, hop-off' bus and got off to have lunch before continuing to the Palace of Holyrood House which we all enjoyed. We then used the ticket which was valid for 24 hours to travel to Ocean Terminal to visit the Royal Yacht Britannia which we really enjoyed. The only disappointment is that some reviewers seem to have gone on buses with real guides rather than the recording we had. I found it a bit hard to hear everything but I hope I got most of it. The people who sell the tickets on the bridge deserve a mention as they were very friendly and helpful.

Thank motherofstudents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at Edinburgh Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

motherofstudents

Thank you for hopping on our Majestic Tour with your friends. It sounds like you really enjoyed hopping on and off to explore the sights. Our Ticket Sellers will be pleased to get a mention too.

I am sorry if you felt you missed out with a live guide, we only have pre-recorded commentary for the route down to Britannia so that is probably why our team recommended the Majestic Route.

We also offer multi tour tickets so you could have had a taste of both.

Our ticket sellers pride themselves on offering the best tour for your needs so delighted that you really enjoyed the one you took and made the most of the 24 hour ticket.

Hop on again soon and enjoy a live commentary on your next visit. Our Edinburgh Tour, Edinburgh World Heritage Tour and MacTours City Tour all have tour guides on board until 3 November.

Kind regards

Elaine

Elaine Green
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Great bus tour, very informative guids with great sense of humours, make sure you sit on the top deck for the best views. So good we did it twice!!!

Thank Emma5575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at Edinburgh Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Emma5575

Thank you so much for your 5 star review of our city tours.

The Guides will be delighted at being described as informative and with a great sense of humour, as this is a great mix.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and appreciate you taking the time to review us here.

With best wishes

Elaine

Elaine Green
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Edinburgh is an amazing place to visit, there's not many major cities that pull off such a relaxed atmosphere. We took the bus tour out to holyrood and the botanical gardens and the views and sights were excellent. Live commentary was great, very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. If your planning a trip, take one of the bus tours,you won't be disappointed!:-D

1  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at Edinburgh Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

flossylou79

We love Edinburgh too and showing our city off to visitors!

Thanks for your 5 star review of our Edinburgh World Heritage Tour, the route was redone for this season to ensure that we included even more views of the city, I hope you took some great photos?

We appreciate you recommending our tours here as a great way to see our amazing city.

Many thanks

Elaine

Elaine Green
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We snagged a 17 pound deal: a round-trip CityLink bus from Glasgow's Buchanan Bus Station to Edinburgh's Waverly Bus Station including a hop-on, hop-off bus tour of Edinburgh. Check CityLink's website for details. The CityLink bus had an on-board toilet, comfortable seats and friendly drivers. Catch the Edinburgh tour bus on Waverly Bridge just a short walk from the bus station. The tour bus provides ear phones with well-done commentary, and the hop-on, hop-off service lets you get your bearings in the city with the hour-long circuit, and then choose the stops you want to visit. Definitely recommended.

Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at Edinburgh Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Linda F

Thanks for your review of our partnership with CityLink. It's good to hear that you were delighted with your deal and enjoyed touring with us.

I also appreciate you recommending us to others via Trip Advisor.

It sounds like you had an enjoyable time exploring Edinburgh with us.We are delighted that we added to the great time you had in Edinburgh.

With kind regards

Elaine

Elaine Green
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edinburgh Bus Tours also viewed

 

Been to Edinburgh Bus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing