We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worth the money”

Edinburgh Bus Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.27*
and up
Royal Edinburgh Ticket with Hop-On Hop-Off Tours, Edinburgh Castle Admission
Ranked #32 of 221 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop on - hop off and discover the best of Scotland’s Capital with Edinburgh Bus Tours. Enjoy unbeatable views and an incredible experience on board our five star tours. Explore sights including Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse and The Royal Yacht Britannia. Choose from multi-lingual commentary available in up to 10 different languages or let a specially trained English speaking guide tell you about their city. Hop on - hop off tickets valid for 24 hours give you total flexibility to explore. Make a day of it and save money with our Grand and Royal tickets. Grand tickets give you access to all city tours for 24 or 48 hours. The Royal Edinburgh Ticket includes a Grand 48 ticket, plus admission to Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse and Royal Yacht Britannia saving you over 20%. We operate every day of the year, except 25 December
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Really worth the money! At first we weren't really sure we wanted to go on any of the tours, but since the wheather was a bit wet we decided to buy the grandticket and didn't regret it a bit. For 4 pounds more than you pay for a ticket for 24 hours for only one of the three tours, you get a ticket for all three tours for 48 hours! You can get on and off on every busstop that's on the map! It's ideal when the weather is not that great or you just want an easy and fast way to get around town! Nice audiotours and do sit outside when it's not raining, you see so much more! Be sure to wear warm clothes though ;-).

1  Thank Bregje M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at Edinburgh Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your 5 star review of our Grand Ticket. I am glad you made the most of our winter special offer of extending the validity to 48 hours. It is a great way to explore the city, especially when the weather isn't great. Thank you also for your comments abour our audio tours, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed them. I love your sound advice to others about wrapping up warm, it can get a bit chilly here, especially if you want to enjoy the views upstairs!

We really appreciate you taking the time to review our tours.

Many thanks

Elaine

Elaine Green
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,964 - 1,968 of 2,227 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We took the 2 day tour to see all the sights and took the Majestic tour first. We stayed on the bus to see what we wanted to see the next day. We then took the red bus and got off at the castle. The red bus goes within the city so you don't get to see the botanical gardens or the royal yacht Britannia. If you have the time I would do both. If not do the Majestic tour because you can walk the royal mile and see all the other sights. Its cold this time of the yeas so dress warm for walking outside.

Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at Edinburgh Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your 5 star review of our City Tours. I like your advice of buying one of our 48 hour tickets and using day one to decide what you want to visit day 2. Our Majestic Tour is popular as it heads away from the city centre and takes in different attractions as well as offering fantastic views back up to the Royal Mile - I hope you took some photos.

it sounds like you made the most of your 48 hour tickets and really explored Edinburgh.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments here.

With kind regards

Elaine

Elaine Green
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful cold November day. Sat upstairs in an open top bus and saw great sights and had a great education about the area and the buildings. Wrap up warm sit back and enjoy. Lots of buses so you can jump on and off. We loved it.

Thank ebzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at Edinburgh Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your 5 star review. Upstairs on our open-top buses really is the best way to see our beautiful city, I am glad you wrapped up warm and enjoyed a winter tour. I am deligthed to hear that you learned a lot on our tour and that you enjoyed the whole experience. Come back and see us again in the summer when the sunshine can give the stunning architecture a different look.

With kind regards

Elaine

Elaine Green
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were on a tour yesterday and can say the kids really enjoyed the tour. They were wowed with the size of the castle and the palace. My daughter who is 10 really enjoyed the commentary which is designed for children called "Horrible Histories". Gives kids an insight into the gruesome history of the place. She didn't move for the full hour of the tour! I would recommend for families. Easy access for pushchairs and wheelchairs and under 5's are free.

1  Thank sarahlaurenkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at Edinburgh Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of our City Sightseeing Tour. I am delighted to hear that Horrible Histories was a hit. We are currently working on updating it with Terry Deary in time for next year's 20th Anniversary of the Horrible Histories books and are very excited about it.

It's not easy keeping children interested so I am pleased to hear that Horrible Hisotries did just that and I am sure your children learned lots of guresome facts too!

Thanks for mentioning the easy access which also helps those in wheelchairs.

Come back and see us again soon

With kind regards

Elaine

Elaine Green
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We like a bus tour when we go anywhere as you can find out lots of interesting facts...not so with this tour.
Tool expensive and too short!

1  Thank sumort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at Edinburgh Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our city tours, we enjoy hearing back from our passengers.

Edinburgh is indeed a fairly compact city and you can walk to the main city centre sights. However the climb up to the Royal Mile from the Georgian New Town isn't for everyone! We hope that when choosing to take a tour you do so to find out more about the city as well as use the 24 hour ticket to save your legs by hopping on and off.

We also offer our Majestic Tour which heads north of the city centre down to the waterfront via the Royal Botanic Garden and the Royal Yacht Britannia. We find the tour time of 1 hour is ideal for listening to our Guide or pre-recorded commentary and the extra value comes from the use of the 24 hour ticket.
Despite not being a huge city Edinburgh has so much to see and loads of stories to discover. I hope that you enjoyed the tour you took and learned a bit more about our city.

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review.

Kind regards

Elaine

Elaine Green
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edinburgh Bus Tours also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Edinburgh Bus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing