We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food!”

Castle Terrace Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 2,505 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Just opened last week and we had a fabulous meal there
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great restaurant, traditional scottisch food prepared in a haute cuisine style. Very good wines for affordable prices. We had the young grouse, it tasted fantastic!
Simply a top choice!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winningspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,790
    276
    86
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice food, great service!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great food, but pricey. Had the set menu with the wine pairing, which was done very well! They take customer service very seriously so very attentive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SayaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good in parts”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Service, décor, canapés and sweet totally excellent. The starter and main may have been good if you like a lot of salt in your food. You know,the amount guaranteed to give you high blood pressure. My wife and I cook with little salt and add what we feel is required at the table. I this restaurant there was no salt on the table. This should have given us a clue. All I could taste was salt!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chasmac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We went to Castle Terrace for lunch to take advantage of their set lunch menu.

You get so much more than just the three courses on the menu... The amuse bouche was delicious, especially the mini burger. There was also a pre starter of baked potato with cheese (it came in a small cup and was made of foam) that tasted exactly like baked potato with cheese. The bread was served in something that resembled an upside down hat with a tartan design and was replaced when we emptied the first hat! The bread was served warm.

We had starters of ox tongue, mains of fancy rabbit pie and a delicious parfait dessert. All of the food was great. Nice sized portions and well cooked and presented.

The service throughout the meal with polite and friendly and well paced.

The beer was very good and a local brew.

I'd definitely recommend Castle Terrace.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Littleferrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHITBY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Amazing service! Unique experience to try the tasting menu! My husband got the wine to match with the courses which was very good and I also sampled. The food was really good! But I don't know if I would want to splurge to that extent very often! We also went to the Outsider and Blonde's restaurant while in Edinburgh which we also thoroughly enjoyed at 1/3 of the price or maybe even a quarter. But we didn't need to do the sampler menu+ matching wine which would have definitely saved on cost. The service was timed perfectly on when they brought out the course and when they brought the next wine! Very amazing flavours and they actually gave you a copy of the tasting menu to bring home, I definitely see why they have a michelin star, but I felt guilty spending that much money on a meal but it was definitely an experience! You have to make reservation far in advance!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank melandtom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Terrace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Castle Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing