We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culane House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Culane House Hotel
Ranked #124 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and were very happy with the accommodations. The location is in a safe area right next to a park, which was nice for walking. It is right on the bus route to the Royal Mile, Princes Street and Holyrood Palace. It was not a bad 1.5 mile hike to these attractions if you're up for some exercise. The triple room we had was very clean with comfortable beds and coffee accommodations. You do have to walk up and down stairs on the upper floors. They do need to do some work on the shower grout but it was a minor issue. I would recommend this hotel. Kenny seemed to be the jack of trades and did an excellent job with directions, check in/out, and being the waiter.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room on the main or upper floors away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaF701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    93
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
84
165
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Our two stay was perfect, good breakfast nothing was too much trouble, plenty of helpful information, bus stop right outside into City Centre, you can walk but it's a good half hour. Rooms nice & comfortable. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 21farmwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
440 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, in their family room.
Comfy beds. Well appointed bathroom. Welcome tray of water, biscuits and After 8 mints.
Free, ample parking right outside the hotel. Park opposite.
Amenities nearby and we were allowed to order a pizza to our room. Kids were happy.

Good continental and cooked breakfast. Good choice.

Only grumble was their silly pricing. Wanted to stay another night and despite their being lots of available rooms for the next night and with the possibility of them not being filled at such short notice the manager, who was contacted by the helpful receptionist wouldn't drop the price. Therefore he lost two rooms being paid for.

Luckily it worked out in my favour as I found a fantastic late room deal on Booking.com
Family room at 22 Church Street for £33 instead of £200!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MatthewASharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Spotless clean, very helpful staff with great knowledge of Edinburgh. Bus stop right outside the hotel, £3.50 all day travel pass. Opposite park for walking or kids can play on the swings. Reasonable breakfast on offer. Lots of tea and coffee in room, even had chocolate mints, nice touch.

Recommended
,

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank darcyStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

what a great wee place. stayed 2 nights with my mum and sister. the room had 3 single beds with ensuite. plenty room for us all and it was very clean.
hairdryer, straighteners and iron all available in room, as well as sweeties and bottles of water. we got fresh towels on our second day, and the ensuite was cleaned as well and beds made.
breakfast was delicious, with a good choice for continental and fully cooked.
staff were very friendly, and had a good knowledge of local area.
would definetley stay here again, and recommend to my friends and family.

Room Tip: we were in room 7. it was on the top floor, which suited us fine, but some might find the 2 flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maza28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Friendly host with good local knowledge. Really clean and comfortable room. A great quality and choice of breakfast, either continental or cooked, or even both. Will definitely stay here again. Stayed in a family room which was plenty big enough and had all the tea / coffee facilities needed.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TessnZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for two nights during our stay in Edinburgh. Apparently the average price per overnight is a bit higher in Edinburgh than elsewhere, but we managed to get a good rate here for our stay. Breakfast included. Room was nice and had a view over the park. Coffee maker and TV. Staff was really helpful and friendly. Only minus was that the wifi was not at all working during our stay. All in all OK, but just average for the price paid.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.9 mi away
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#171 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heriott Park Guest House
Heriott Park Guest House
#163 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#94 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#123 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbotsford Guest House
Abbotsford Guest House
#102 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Property: Culane House Hotel
Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing