We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was very impressed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culane House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Culane House Hotel
Ranked #125 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Was very impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We loved Everything here during our 4 night stay! The staff could not have been any nicer, the location was ideal, and the rooms were fantastic! Breakfast was made to order for the hot items and lots of pastries and cereals were out to get you started. Was a fantastic place to stay and I highly recommend this place - Kenny and staff will take good care of you!

Room Tip: Ours was on the top floor but from what all the guests were saying you really can not go wrong with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplifyinCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    93
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
84
165
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for three nights last autumn. We drove from Sheffield so needed somewhere with parking. Although no car park there is plenty of free on street parking right outside. The room was a lovely family room at the top of the hotel with only one neighbour so was lovely and quiet but up two flights of stairs! Room was beautifuly decorated and excellent facilities. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice. The staff could not do enough for you, especially Kenny who never seemed to sleep and was always available to answer any queries you might have. Good location as easily accessible by car without having to go into the centre of Edinburgh and there is a bus stop right outside with regular buses into Edinburgh.

A lovely place to stay and would definitely stay again and have already recommended to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewanarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my wife over the bank holiday weekend. The room, although clean and well equiped was rather small and situated in the basement. Even though the festival was on I thought the price of £140 per night was a little steep for this.

The breakfast was quite good with a lot of options from toast through to a full english..

Staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.

There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel with buses running intp Edinburgh every 10 minutes or so.

I would stay here again but would ask for a larger room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our stay at the Culane hotel was really pleasant and confortable. The staff is very kind and friendly, providing clear information about all is needed to reach the city center and what to visit. Costs for transportation to the airport and city center are acceptable by bus or by taxi. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbertran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrara, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

At the culane there was very friendly and kindly staff.
The room was very silent, not very large but it was clean and modern. The breakfast was good, including full english breakfast.
It is easy to park and not far from the "Royal Mile".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleSantini2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

What made our stay at the Culane was their uber friendly staff. They made us feel at home at all times. The room was quite small, as was the bathroom, but it was clean and modern. The breakfast was good, including full english breakfast, fruit, cereals, juice, pastries, toast and ham. It was centric, but it had a very convenient bus stop right by the hotel with buses running to the center every few minutes. We never had to wait more than 3 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikel_LTQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our stay at the Culane House Hotel was excellent value. The hotel staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were brilliant and really "set us up" for the rest of the day. The location was ideal and we were able to stroll to the Royal Yacht in a few minutes. The hotel was situated on a very good bus route in to Edinburgh. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.9 mi away
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#174 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heriott Park Guest House
Heriott Park Guest House
#158 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#92 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#127 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#40 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Property: Culane House Hotel
Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing