We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Culane House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Culane House Hotel
Ranked #136 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are spacious and have all the amenities you would need, the staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. the cooked breakfast was great and set you up for the day. Well done to all at the Colane hotel for making our stay a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bottom room number 10, great room no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    98
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
86
168
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were very pleased with our choice of accommodation, booked through Late Rooms, for several reasons. Our ensuite room was well decorated and comfortable; we enjoyed an excellent full breakfast; street parking was free; and Kenny, the night porter, was very friendly and helpful, and finally it was excellent value. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there next time we're in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in November, absolutely perfect hotel just outside the city centre. Bus stops just outside the hotel and takes around 15 minutes to get in to town. Our room was lovely, with a superb bathroom. Breakfast was lovely and could pick what ever we wanted. Five stars from me. :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely little hotel, beautifully decorated and conveniently located to explore Edinburgh. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive - excellent service. A good breakfast with tasty bacon but sausage could be better quality and more than one type of juice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice stay, the hotel is very easy to find and is excellent location for seeing Edinburgh as you can just jump on a bus for £1.40 leaving the car on the road at no cost. Excellent service and very clean rooms, our room was on the small side however it had everthing we needed.

I would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and will definitely be back. The hotel was well situated for walking or bus into Leith or Edinburgh. Free on street parking was always available. Our room had a lovely view of the park at the front of the hotel.
The room was clean and nicely decorated. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good with a choice of continental or cooked at no extra cost. Very good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband & I have just returned from a 5 night holiday in Edinburgh.

We had a lovely room, so clean @ quiet. Breakfasts were well presented & served to us by the multi talented Kenny (when does he sleep?). Kenny was on duty everyone of our 5 nights & nothing was too much trouble, he & the hotel were a real delight....We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.9 mi away
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#182 of 392 in Edinburgh
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#49 of 392 in Edinburgh
757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#94 of 392 in Edinburgh
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Heriott Park Guest House
Heriott Park Guest House
#220 of 392 in Edinburgh
88 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse
Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse
#131 of 392 in Edinburgh
113 reviews
2.8 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#48 of 392 in Edinburgh
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Property: Culane House Hotel
Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing