We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best house hotel we've stayed in”
Review of Culane House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Culane House Hotel
Ranked #136 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best house hotel we've stayed in”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed overnight in this gem of a hotel, where the staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful, the room was very comfortable and clean with plenty of coffee etc. There were also docking stations for Ipods, Wifi, Tv, and hair dryer/straightener. The en-suite was small but adequate and was spotless clean.
Breakfast was excellent, starting with continental and finishing with a cooked dish of your choice. We will certainly be recommending this hotel to our friends and family.
Willie

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    98
    32
    11
    7
See reviews for
86
167
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfriesshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for one night. Excellent welcome. Room was spotless included wine glasses (usually have to use tooth mugs!!) and After 8 mints!! Linen 1st class. Bathroom, small but spotless. Breakfast just excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend this hotel to friends and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed two nights and the staff were most welcoming and exceptionally helpful. Our room was well furnished with loads of powerpoints and internet access. The ensuite was small and functional. Breakfast was self sevice with cooked options - the food was very good and set you up for theday.
The location on the north side of the city, next a park was quiet and had good public transport links close by to the city centre and Ocean Terminal.
Street car parking outside the hotel was very convenient and hassle free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for the second time and once again we were welcomed by the friendly and helpful staff. Rooms very clean, bathroom absolutely spotless. As we were in the top room we also had the free standing bath which was a lovely luxury.

Breakfast is good and service always with a smile. All staff go the extra mile to help make the stay enjoyable. Again Kenny was very helpful and smiling despite being up 24 hours a day.

The hotel is about 10 minutes on a bus from the city centre or a £7 taxi ride. We found a lovely pub very close by that we went to on our first day - the compass, which was great value for money and had a good cocktail selection!

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will be coming back to stay. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Culane House Hotel. We were given a lovely greeting when we arrived and the room was very clean and well furnished. The staff could not have been more helpful and explained all about the public transport to Edinburgh, even helped with change for the bus. There was a good selection for breakfast and was hot (one of my niggles at other hotels) and well presented. Some of the big hotel chains could learn alot from a stay at this hotel. Thank You.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoDurhamTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

It was a pleasure to stay at Culane House Hotel a very good family run hotel. Kenny the night porter is so helpfull. we stayed in the superior room and it was just that. Good location, good bus service, very clean, lots of breakfast with excellent service. Would definately stay with them again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were given a very warm welcome by the family and staff at the hotel. Every one was so helpful and cheerful. The breakfast was tasty and generous. A lot of thought has gone into the design and lay out of the rooms. We have never stayed in a room with so many plugs and all close to the mirrors. There was an iron,board,hair dryer and straighteners in the room as well as flat screen t.v.and clock with mp3 player. The bus stop is outside the hotel and takes you into the centre of Edinburgh within 10 minutes. We will definitely stay there again and are telling all our friends about the wonderful hotel and staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#172 of 393 in Edinburgh
171 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 393 in Edinburgh
751 reviews
Heriott Park Guest House
#164 of 393 in Edinburgh
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pillars House
#89 of 393 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Leith
The Bonnington Guest House
The Bonnington Guest House
#145 of 393 in Edinburgh
90 reviews
Allison House Hotel
#110 of 393 in Edinburgh
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culane House Hotel

Property: Culane House Hotel
Address: 9 Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Culane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Culane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing