We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, friendly staff, tasty burgers...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Holyrood 9A

The Holyrood 9A
Ranked #142 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: In Edinburgh's old town, just off the Royal Mile, you'll find new The Holyrood 9A. A place to bring friends and discover a local bar restaurant to call your own in the heart of the city. The gleaming pumps offer 20 beer and ale varieties from Scotland and around the world. There's wines and spirits in any which way and a classic cocktail list for your well deserved post-work tipple.The Holyrood's all day menu includes mouth-watering 'two-handers' - an eclectic array of delicious gourmet burgers, with plenty more large and small dishes including options for our vegetarian pals. Ask us about reserving a bar corner or a whole room for your own event. Stay all afternoon or night and spoil yourself. As Alexander Pope said, 'a little beer is a dangerous thing...'
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice place, friendly staff, tasty burgers...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Good selection of burgers, even for vegetarians. I had the veggie haggis burger which was enormous and totally overshadowed my friend's carcass-burger! Probably could have shared one between two! The trimmings were tasty and different too. Well worth the price. Good selection of beers on tap.
The location is relaxed and welcoming as were the staff, who were very friendly, excellent service, knowledgeable and gave great recommendations.
Thanks for a lovely visit, will be back again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    350
    71
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haxey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff, food and great choice of beers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Visited as it was a dog friendly pub. Our dog, Copper, got a bowl of water and a doggie treat when we went it.
The staff were fantastic and friendly. The food is really good. A massive choice of over 20 posh burgers, and the Sweet Potato chips are to die for.
A wonderful choice of beers for those wanting to try a few different drinks

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Haxeyowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Have the haggis burger!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Walked past this place on the way to Arthur's seat and thought it was worth a try and I was very pleased with what I found. Extensive burger menu,spoilt for choice with beef,chicken,veggie and what I went for was the haggis burger with sweet potato fries,both delicious and nicely presented on wooden board. Also had chocolate brownie with ice cream which was okay,though wouldn't go out of my way to have again....spotted someone else having chicken skewer starters which looked tasty. This pub is at the end of Cowgate so slightly out the way of the main royal mile which goes in its favour as felt less touristy more locals,nicely busy for a Monday night.
Staff very friendly,lots of people serving same tables which was nice as could ask anyone for help.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iloveholidays1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Pub for a Drink & Bite to Eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

A cosy pub tucked away just off the Royal Mile. The menu is moslty grill and seems to specialise in burgers with a large range on offer.

Pub is owned by the same company running Red Squirrel so unsurprisingly the food is almost identical - burgers served on the same chopping block, same bun, same fries in the same bowl.

Some nice beers on tap. The burger I had was good but as with Red Squirrel the bun was too large for the meat meaning one has to chomp through a load of bread before the meat, very juicy too so the bun was soggy by the end.

Serving staff friendly and helpful, a nice enough experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chakns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great burger and beer - what else you need ! ?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

It was my first time in the Holyrood 9A. Place was recommended to me by friend of mine so after a long hiking day we decided to pop in and try what this place have to offer. I must say we weren't disappointed at al. We ordered two burgers: Bohemian and Pionnier both excellent, tasty and well presented with skinny and crunchy portion of slaw. Staff was very friendly, and recommended great burgers to us...on the top of that they allowed us to sample some of their amazing unusual drought beers. Will definitely be back !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cust0mer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Holyrood 9A also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Holyrood 9A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing