We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well made cup of coffee”

Ocean Kitchen Bar and Grill
Ranked #1,878 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: European, Scottish, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: A great space to take a break from the whirl of shopping and cinema to relax and refuel, overlook the harbour, enjoy your chill time and order whatever you feel like – from a fresh fair trade coffee with dessert at our Café Tiki to a cocktail or hearty lunch with no fuss.Ocean Kitchen is a haven for the busy. While away a couple of hours on the spectacular outdoor terrace or grab a quick lunch or dinner and then on with the show. Even the kids will be treated like little angels. The most laid back shopping and eating experience you're likely to have.On our club and event nights, watch the place transform. Host to the MTV Europe Music Awards in 2003, many of the world's top DJs, Vegas Nights and live musicians. You can even book the space for your own celebration.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A well made cup of coffee”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Really appreciated the care taken to make a latte that was both hot and presented beautifully. The waitress made a fern out of the steamed milk - a nice touch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lycragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    4
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Lovely place to pass a couple of hours over looking Brittania,you can just have coffee and a snack or a proper meal,in very pleasant surroundings,

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 32jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“so medicore”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Came here for a quick catch up and drink with my friend who had recently got promoted. The staff at the food choosing section were too busy talking to each other than to acknowledge us and offer assistance. Due to this, I opted for a sandwich, which turned out to be just as disappointing - dry with stale crisps. I ate half of it. The prices were high too, which I suppose should be expected as Ocean Terminal is supposed to be somewhat a tourist attraction place due to the Royal Britannia. Spending nearly £10.00 on a sandwich and a Grapetiser is rather unappealing. Seating area and view were nice though, and waiting staff were helpful and polite. Really doubt I would be dining here again, and would recommend other restaurants within this establishment.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“What a Disappointment”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited here in May 2013 and gave a 5 star review, on the long awaited return trip we were so disappointed with not only the food, but the dreadful attitude of the staff. Had to finally ask for our table to be cleaned. After much toing and froing, had to stand in line to order food, then stand in line to get number and pay, then stand at a totally different area to order and pay for drinks, we finally managed to get fish and chips and macaroni and cheese. They wouldn't have been our first choice, but there was no sign of the lovely quesadillos we had on our previous visit. Such a pity - we won't be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Winnie46Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BermyChic77, General Manager at Ocean Kitchen Bar and Grill, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for your comments. I'm fairly certain I remember you from your last visit. You were early for our evening voucher scheme and the servery which runs until 5pm, was not busy, so we were able to accommodate you and offer you the evening menu. The reason we do not offer table service during the day is the servery, which is self-service, is open. I am sorry that you feel disappointed that we do not offer the evening menu during the day, however, should you have asked, I would again have been more than happy to make special arrangements for you, as would any of my assistant managers. We do still have quesadillas and sharing platters on offer on the evening menu. I am sorry to lose your patronage, but as we always have, we operate a servery during the day until 5pm and offer table service in the evenings only.

Kindest Regards,


Valeka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had a drink here after visiting the Royal Yatch Britannia. Access to the yatch is in the same shopping centre. It was a bright sunny day, even though it was cold. From where we were sitting in the Ocean Bar and Grill, the view of the sea and the port was stunning. It''s a large open space with lots of seats, so it's easy for everyone to enjoy the view.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Kitchen Bar and Grill also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Ocean Kitchen Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing