We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mingalar - magnifique”
Review of Mingalar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mingalar
Ranked #102 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

From the moment of arrival to our exhausted departure, we experienced the true meaning of customer service. Chris and Clive displayed absolutely the right balance between informative/chatty and discrete; not in your face yet our short trip was enhanced by their advice. The accommodation was what we expected; the online description was spot on. The location is great, allowing us to find some very good places to eat and an easy walk to the city centre. There is no question that we will seek out Mingalar again when we return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andy820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 156 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

When we first arrived we were greeting with a warm welcome, they explained about what to do in Edinburgh and showed us around using the map. I felt the explanation was really clear, and definitely reccomand any travellers to here. I fell in love with the owner as he loves to share his interesting knowledge about Edinburgh. The price was really value for money, it wasn't overly price and it was located near the city aprox 15mins or less. We truly wished to visit this lovely guest house and enjoy the true colours of what Edinburgh has for us!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamuelSTSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We found Mingalar by chance - I honestly don't remember how - but I'm glad we did. The 15-minute uphill walk to the city centre was a bit of a challenge, but the neighborhood had lots to look at and Chris's directions were spot-on! (We took the convenient city bus on subsequent trips.) The rooms were small but comfortable - having an in-room fridge and use of the little kitchenette was nice. One night we ate in, having shopped at the Tesco grocery about 2 blocks away. (The kitchenette is short on plates/bowls/cups, so check it out before you plan your meal!) Breakfast was good - cooked to order eggs, assortment of meats, breads, yogurts, etc. When I looked in the TINY kitchen, I was amazed that owners Clive and Myint-Su could do so much in such a small space! I think the price we paid for this B&B was quite reasonable, and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: 2nd floor front view of the church across the street was lovely, but if you don't want to carry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FairFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Mingalar is a decent B&B, and an excellent price given the central location (the centre of Edinburgh is about a 10-15min walk). Our room was small, but well equipped with a comfortable bed, nice bathroom and fridge/tea facilities. The welcome was VERY informative and the hosts friendly.

However, in our opinion, the breakfast could be improved. This is served in a buffet style, although when you arrive for the meal you are asked how you would like eggs and these are prepared fresh. If this is possible surely the entire breakfast could be freshly prepared? This would improve the overall meal quality as you wouldn't get slightly "tired" food. Plus if you don't want eggs you then have to find someone to ask for a plate for the remaining items. It would also be much improved if better quality ingredients were used.

I don't want this review to end on a negative note as the "bed" part of B&B was great. It would just be nice and become the complete package is more attention was given to the food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bristol_SMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful rooms! Very close (10 min walking distance) to the city centre but no noise at night! The beds were short even for me (1.63cm!). We had one family room and easily fitted in 1 room with 4 people! Staff very friendly. Good place to stay during a stay in Edinburgh!

Room Tip: Try to get room number 2, 4 or 6, very nicely refurbished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreatwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Three of us shared a room which was adequate but a wee bit on the tight side. Rooms were well heated and there was lots of hot water and large towels. The full Scottish breakfast was a nice way to start the day. It was an excellent location for the short walk into the city centre. Pubs and restaurants were many along the street. The host gave us a good briefing on what to see and the general lay of the land. Although there was a mini kitchen available,we never used it. WiFi was in our room with free access. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights with our son. Our room was very large. And my sons was adequate for him. We enjoyed our visit very much, City center was about 15 minutes walk. After spending all day walking around the city it was nice to come back to a very nice and clean Guest house where the owners made you feel welcome, Hoping to visit the place again very soon,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omerpasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,033 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingalar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingalar

Address: 2 East Claremont Street, Edinburgh EH7 4JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Mingalar 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mingalar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingalar Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing