We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mingalar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mingalar
Ranked #84 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the annex, which is the basement of the owners' house and it was lovely. We were met by the friendly owner and his wife, who showed us to our very clean room and explained the basics. We were supplied with tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and some fresh milk and cold water. There is also a kitchenette for guests to use. We only had breakfast on one of the days as our daytrips started very early, but we were able to help ourselves to juice and cereals. It wasn't too far to walk to the Royal Mile, but there's a bus stop nearby if you don't fancy the uphill treck in the morning! I'd highly recommened this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    55
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
51
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I had booked this B&B after seeing the lovely photographs of the rooms which looked amazing, sadly the one we were given was not one of them. The house is in a good location, with a short walk to Princes Street and the castle. the buffet breakfast was lovely with lots of choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Really helpful and friendly for festival novices. Easy walk to all attractions and venues. Great breakfast! Only slight gripe was temperamental electric shower. Would definitely recommend. Also good value for money during the Festival.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kglancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

I was greeted by a very helpful gentleman who answered every question that I had and a few more before I had asked them. He gave me maps and leaflets and explained the area very thoroughly. My room was very large and comfortable, with shutters on the windows to shut out the noise from the road. Breakfast was informal buffet style, so you can help yourself to what you want. The staff were lovely, if very slightly excentric.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Mingalar Hotel is a unsung gem of Edinburgh, Its less then 10 minutes from all hots sports of Edinburgh.

Me and my wife, son got there the man who runs it was extremely helpful telling where all the best places to visit, eat. and was available to help us 24/7.

All the services was very good we got the breakfast room with only 20 minutes left and the whole kitchen staff stayed behind to lets us eat until 10 minutes after the breakfast time had ended.

On out last day the manger let us put our bags in his office until we was ready to get our train.

I'm very pleased with the Mingalar Hotel and will visit again and I highly recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a 5 star hotel without the high prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Just 10 minutes walk from the station it was very handy for travel and for seeing the sights and cheap by Edinburgh standards.

Room was clean with all the basics and had a good shower room ensuite but it was just rather too full of beds – there was a double and two single beds in the room – shame really as it would have been a nice room with one or two less beds. My bed had a plastic mattress cover on which I hate as it makes you so hot.

As well as tea making facility and mini fridge in the room, there is a shared kitchen area which is a really good idea.

Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenOldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We orignally booked to stay here for three days but ended up staying for more than ten days after our travel plans went awry. The owners and staff were very understanding and accomodating to our needs.
The guest house is great, in a fantastic location, it is clean, spacious and the breakfast provided is substantial and varied. Nice additions were the fridge in the room for fresh milk, and the use of a small kitchen for guests to prepare there own meals if they wished to.
We would definitely return here whenever we are back in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara_0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#19 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#40 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Edinburgh Sixteen
#92 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mackenzie Guest House
#123 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Abbotsford Guest House
#102 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#66 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingalar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingalar

Property: Mingalar
Address: 2 East Claremont Street, Edinburgh EH7 4JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mingalar 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Mingalar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingalar Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing