We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, coffee and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Plum

Cafe Plum
Ranked #863 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stockbridge & Dean Village
Description: It is a cafe under new ownership in the Stockbridge area of Edinburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, coffee and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I had a bowl of fabulous tomato and lentil soup with granary bread for lunch with very nice coffee.

Free wifi was a great bonus and meant I could get some work done too. nice chilled atmosphere and service was excellent.

I noted they do half portions at half normal price for children. Fab looking range of panini's, toasties, cakes and scone's. They also have range of Suki tea; green tea, apple and peppermint. They do soup/sandwich deals too, oh and take away. It's quite a popular place and does run out of certain things, so I recommend an early lunch to avoid disappointment.

There is a toilet available for customers too. Cash only, no cards though. I certainly be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FlyingScotsmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wonderful service, great bacon roll, nice choice of teas, and WiFi. They even played my favourite album while I got on with my work in peace and comfort!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaraMc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Fantastic friendly service, the homemade scones were first class, really friendly staff who were helpfull but not intrusive.
Great selection of newspapers were on hand to while away the time while I waited for my friend.
Will definatley be back, highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abdnforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great tasting coffee and bacon rolls and a nice atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

A great little find and nice addition to Stockbridge!

The staff are always very friendly and accommodating. The flat whites are very good and they do great breakfast rolls!

It's a very small place to can get busy very quickly but a great place to pass some time on a Sunday with a paper (newspapers provided) and nice coffee and food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We called in here for a quick lunch and found the food and service perfect. I asked for them to change one of their standard sandwiches and they said it was totally no problem. Atmosphere was nice though cos of the small size of the cafe you are pretty close to the other patrons.

I would recommend if you were down this way in Edinburgh.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Plum also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing