We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile and enjoyable - will definitely revisit!”

The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour
Ranked #3 of 203 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Free Day Tour of the Scottish Highlands. We believe everyone should be able to discover the real Scotland, that’s why we pioneered the only Free tour of this beautiful wilderness; through the eyes of a passionate and knowledgeable, local tour guide. We pride ourselves on exceeding the expectations of our guests; maintaining a professional but relaxed approach, and ensuring every tour is entertaining, informative and utterly unique.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worthwhile and enjoyable - will definitely revisit!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I took the tour during the Easter holidays with my father and we had an absolute blast. We had as much fun off the bus as on it - thanks to the funny and educated tour guide Russell. I'm really glad that we decided to spend a day with The Hairy Coo, they really created a memory for life.And it really was fun - as soon as I got back to the hotel I wanted to return to the bus again!

When it was time to pay (OPTIONAL!l) Russell told us all to leave the money on the dashboard so there would be no pressure, I really appreciated that though my father and I paid an amount equivalent to our satisfaction of the tour. I thoroughly admire their concept, approach, and overall quality of their business and tours.

If you have a day to spare there's no doubt you should hop on the ride and have a great experience. The Hairy Coo will make you fall in love with Scotland, the Higlands, and their people!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonEdinburgh, Owner at The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello AmitisS,

Russell will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Hairy Coo tour so much. Thank you for taking the time to post such a charming review of your experience, we sincerely appreciate it.

Kindest regards,

Donald,

The Hairy Coo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,207
    202
    28
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Already booked for the second free Highland tour in May, 2013. The first tour was back in May, 2012. Absolutely amazing guide and sceneary. Our guide, Nic, was very open-minded telling Scottish historical stories invloved with battles and England; although they were quite sad.... I love every single stop we visited, especially feeding the Highland cattles with toasts in person! What a wonderful experience! I learned so much about Highland and Scotland in one day. Make sure you take this tour during your Edinburgh trip!!! You won't regret!!
Advise: Wear enough of warm layers of clothings and waterproof jacket! Weather changes fast in mountains.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ivoryfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonEdinburgh, Owner at The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello Ivoryfarm,

It is really good to hear from you and Nic will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Hairy Coo tour so much. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes,

Donald,

The Hairy Coo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
“There is nothing like 'The Hairy Coo'”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had the most memorable trip because of the tour guide and his hospitality, his way of interaction and information as well. I highly recommend it to people who are thinking of taking a tour to the highlands. It simply was the best for us.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonEdinburgh, Owner at The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello Soanee,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive and charming review of your experience on tour with The Hairy Coo.

Best wishes,

Donald,

The Hairy Coo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Great Highland Day Tour”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I would recommend The Hairy Coo to anyone wanting a beautiful and informative nature experience. Our tour guide, Russel, took us to gorgeous places and shared lots of history to match. He was also open about current issues and politics. You pay as much as you think your trip was worth, no more, no less. P.S. Feeding the cows isn't as corny as you'd think; it's actually quite fun!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank samantha_carwile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonEdinburgh, Owner at The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello samantha_carwile,

Russell will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Hairy Coo tour so much, especially feeding the coos which we consider to be a highlight of the tour. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate it.

Kindest regards,

Donald,

The Hairy Coo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good one”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

we took this tour and were very excited about it since we read the tripadvisor reviews. the tour guide was very good and informative but maybe he wasn't in the best of his mood and hence he took us to William Wallace monument, loch Katherine, doune castle
and a couple of small stops here and there. we were looking forward to see the isle of Skye and more of the highlands as it was a highlands tour but it wasn't a part of this tour. a small suggestion would be to mail the tourists who book the tour with an itinerary of the day so that they can plan to visit the places not covered in this tour.overall a good value for money and quite relaxed with number of stops and free time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jatin_n_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonEdinburgh, Owner at The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello jatin_n_jane,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, but with all due respect I am as confused as you appear to have been on the day.

Our Highlands tour itinerary is clearly listed on our website and at no time up to now has it ever included Skye as a destination. It is simply unrealistic to expect to travel to Skye on a day tour departing from Edinburgh and to criticise your guide for visiting the destinations that we do list is rather unfair.

Best wishes,

Donald,

The Hairy Coo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour also viewed

 

Been to The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing