We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour
Ranked #3 of 194 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Free Day Tour of the Scottish Highlands. We believe everyone should be able to discover the real Scotland, that’s why we pioneered the only Free tour of this beautiful wilderness; through the eyes of a passionate and knowledgeable, local tour guide. We pride ourselves on exceeding the expectations of our guests; maintaining a professional but relaxed approach, and ensuring every tour is entertaining, informative and utterly unique.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The tour was by far the best decision we made the whole trip. It was nice to see Edinburgh, and we loooved it, but it was also nice to be able to get the guided tour of the more scenic Scotland and see more than just the city while we were there! The guide was extremely knowledgable and gave us the interesting history of every place we visited, and he was extremely enthusiastic. The tour was half on the bus, but there were plenty of stops where we could see and walk around to get some great photos. The Highlands are beautiful, and the weather was perfect for them! We also got to stop and feed some Hairy Coos (which are cows). It was an amazing experience I couldn't believe it was free. I wish I could've given a bigger tip at the end. It was so worth it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonEdinburgh, Owner at The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello Samantha K,

It really is good to hear from you again. Thank you for posting such a charming review of your Hairy Coo tour experience, we really appreciate your custom and support.

Best wishes,

Donald,

The Hairy Coo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,027
    171
    22
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yatala, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome, do it, ignore all other tours now, just book, yes it is free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

As a rule I don't do tours. Our trip was 6 weeks in Europe. This, to memory was one of very few tours that we did. It was outstanding. Our guide knew everything about Scotland and Edinburgh. He wasn't just reciting a script, he really knew his stuff. I am not a history buff, but the guide suckered me in. I wanted to know everything, it was an absolutely fascinating tour. There was only about 10 of us, in a small comfortable van and off we went and trekked around the countryside all day with Scottish music to entertain us. The guide was honest about other areas worth visiting and how to get there. He recommended Stirling Castle over Edinburgh and boy was he right. He told us how to catch a train to the town and then a short walk to the castle. My teenage son wanted to do the Monty Python scene and the castle, the guide provided the coconut shells, it was awesome, Python fans would understand. A visit to the hairy cows made our day, he even provided hairy cow hats. I can't rave enough about this tour. Yes it is free. There is no pressure through the day and at the end, you pay the guide what you thought it was worth. No tricks, no taking us to places for kickbacks, just an honest little company offering an awesome service. If all tours were like this, I might take more of them. Well done boys. Old and teenage Aussies certainly had the time of their life, especially the frozen lake. We don't have frozen anything, it was amazing. DO it, BOOK it, doesn't matter what age you are, it is wonderful. Two happy little travellers who have sworn to return and see Scotland fully because of all the wonderful things we saw and heard.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonEdinburgh, Owner at The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello Lorraine B,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed and descriptive review of your Hairy coo tour. It really does give us great encouragement to hear that our guests enjoy the experience so much. your custom and support are greatly appreciated by us.

Kindest regards,

Donald,

The Hairy Coo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The route is wonderful and the landscapes beautiful! The guide is awesome, knows so much about his country and even puts local music during the trip for you to get a taste of all the aspects of the country! Definitely recommended for all those that seek a genuine tour and not a touristic luxurious package..Not to mention that you can put a value on the trip and just pay as much as you can. Really pleased that I tried this and hope those guys will keep on!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonEdinburgh, Owner at The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello Maria M,

It is really good to hear that you enjoyed your Hairy Coo tour so much. Thank you for posting such an insightful review, we really do appreciate it.

Best wishes,

Donald,

The Hairy Coo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best highland tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Either you are staying in Edinburgh or you are here for a wee bit as a tourist, this should be deffinately in your "the things to do" list. The tourguides are excellent, sharing a huge amount of information about Scotland and its history and also very enthousiastic. You will get a taste of the famous Highlands and it is great if you are in a tight badget cause it works by donations at the end of the tour. You won't regret it!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Danai_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonEdinburgh, Owner at The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello Miss_Danai_K,

Thank you for posting such a charming review of your Hairy Coo experience, we appreciate both your custom and support.

Kindest regards,

Donald,

The Hairy Coo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great friendly tour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We picked to take a scottish highlands tour with Hairy Coo over a lot of 'so-called' and pricey tours and were absolutely delighted with our choice! We did not regret going with them for a second. Donald is a lovely scot, who knew a lot about each of the places we visited and passed by. He is very forthcoming with any kind of information you need and makes sure you're having a good time. We were blessed with a lovely sunny day and had a great time in the scottish highlands, left and got dropped off as per given time. The bus also was nice and comfy, the heating in the bus was really a saviour in the chilly winter weather! The cherry on the cake were the CUTE Hairy coos we got to meet n greet in the end, such a delight to watch! All in all a great tour and we will go back with our family soon! Thanks for a great day out guys, wish you guys good luck and hope to see some new tour itineraries too!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SpreadingSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDonEdinburgh, Owner at The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hiya SpreadingSmiles,

It is really good to hear from you again. Thank you for posting your review and photos, it gives us great encouragement. Your custom and support are sincerely appreciated by us.

Best wishes,

Donald,

The Hairy Coo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour also viewed

 

Been to The Hairy Coo - Free Scottish Highlands Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing