We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merchiston Residence
Ranked #19 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Excellent is all I can say. Spotlessly clean, lovely and warm, extremely comfortable and really convenient for the city centre. Far better than a hotel room and for the same price. Wouldn't hesitate to book an apartment again.Taxis and buses are really plentiful and cheap. So quiet and safe area. Just book it !!!!! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alibee49P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate you sharing your experiences. It sounds like you had a lovely time and took full advantage of our location.
I hope we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    32
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
74
58
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked our stay here just a few days before leaving for Edinburgh from Cork, Ireland. The reason we chose the apartment was due to the cost being about the same compared to a Bed & Breakfast and cheaper then any hotel stay for our trip there. I am so glad we booked it too! It was well worth the money. There were many amenities close by, grocery store, cafe's, restaurants, shopping, etc. The bus stop was right up the street and was a short ride into the main city center. The cabs were not expensive to take into the city center either if you didn't want to wait for the bus. We loved having the washer & dryer since we had already been traveling for a week and needed to catch up on some laundry. We had maid service each morning, Monica was fantastic! She also gave us some travel advice for heading outside the city to Cramond Village. It was a quiet location even with the large population of college students in the area. We also had a rental car with us and it was a easy drive from the airport and we were lucky to be the only ones with a car for our short stay so had access to the driveway the whole time. My family is hoping to come back again in the future & we would definitely stay here again & recommend it to others as well! Great value for your money!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you, so much, for taking the time to post such a lovely review, it sounds like you had a great time and made the most of your time in Edinburgh and the surrounds. Not many visitors make it to Cramond, which is very pretty!
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have just stayed here for a couple of nights in apartment 6 for my husband's birthday and because he used to live in the 'two rooms' ( one now) as a student so we were excited to see what it was like-love the design of the room, had a lovely welcome on arrival and were left with chocolates and prosecco and milk!!!
Comfortable beds, all crockery etc was lovely and clean as were carpets/paintwork etc. Ipod dock, dvd and dvd's to use, The White Company toiletries.Tea, coffee, biscuits - the list goes on!!!!
Loved that there was no key to remember and you have a code for the front door and your own and the customer service all the way through was excellent. Excellent location also and quiet.

Amazingly clean, will definitely be staying again and will recommend it to everyone. It is a treat to stay in somewhere that is modern and well looked after.

Room Tip: They all look lovely - we saw a few when doors were opened to clean- they really care about good ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debo66buster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Your husband must have found some difference since his time staying there, but his local knowledge would have meant you knew all the good places to go!
Its also great to hear that you noticed our housekeeping standards, I will pass your comments onto the team.
We hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a great place to stay - all the benefits of a hotel suite with the privacy of your own flat. The location is perfect, close to the city centre but a couple of minutes from the main road so very quiet at night. There are groceries round the corner and lots of tempting restaurants, cafes and bars within a few minutes walk. I can't fault it or recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahame_Goode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found lots of things to do. There are so many lovely restaurants close by that we are spoiled for choice. I hope we get to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Not a lot more I can say that I haven't written in previous years other than the rating this accomodation gets is no surprise to me. Truly excellent and great value. stayed in the basement rooms this time, no issues with bookings, early arrival later entry tot he property. This is an ideal site from which to visit Edinburgh

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_Worcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello there. Thanks for posting another lovely review, we are get to hear that we keep meeting your expectations and we look forward to seeing you back soon! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We are into our 4th day if a 6 day stay at the apartment. We have absolutely loved it. There has been no complaints. Room service is awesome. Furnishings are beautiful and everything you need is provided. A grocery store and coffee shop is 2 mins away as is the bus stop. A 10 minute ride from tranquility to the buzz of the city. There is a nice bound book in each room with clear instructions to use every appliance and gadget in the apartment. All useful phone numbers, bus routes, and places to see are clearly identified. We travelled as a family and loved it immensely.

I do have a few suggestions that would only improve something that's already very good. One, a latch inside the bathroom would be good. A copy of the city map for the guest to take would be good.

Would stay here again and recommend this place strongly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anexastihor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello there

Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments about Merchiston Residence, it's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks also for your feedback, all of which is appreciated. For your next trip, we have maps for guests by the front door, I will check when I am there later that there are plenty and guests are welcome to help themselves.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent 2 nights in these brilliant apartments on a recent visit to Edinburgh and to visit family. They exceeded our expectations, they were spotlessly clean and decorated extremely tastefully. They are located in a very quiet area but still close enough to explore the city of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur_T_W46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our apartments, we really appreciate it.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, the surroundings of Merchiston are so peaceful, particularly in the summer madness, so its good to hear you enjoyed that and your trip to Edinburgh.

We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
960 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,812 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,362 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#37 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchiston Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchiston Residence

Property: Merchiston Residence
Address: 4 Merchiston Avenue, Edinburgh EH10 4NX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchiston Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand Victorian property of 8 luxury serviced apartments set in the cosmopolitan district of Merchiston where visitors are now offered an unrivalled home from home experience. The sumptuous interiors at Merchiston Residence are contemporary and bespoke, exuding sophisticated elegance. Merchiston Residence is a minute’s walk from the fashionable area of Bruntsfield which is home to designer boutique shopping and a myriad of independent eateries, and is a 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute bus or taxi ride into the city centre and the surrounding landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchiston Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchiston Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Merchiston Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing