We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merchiston Residence
Ranked #22 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a great place to stay - all the benefits of a hotel suite with the privacy of your own flat. The location is perfect, close to the city centre but a couple of minutes from the main road so very quiet at night. There are groceries round the corner and lots of tempting restaurants, cafes and bars within a few minutes walk. I can't fault it or recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grahame_Goode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found lots of things to do. There are so many lovely restaurants close by that we are spoiled for choice. I hope we get to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Merchiston Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 199 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Not a lot more I can say that I haven't written in previous years other than the rating this accomodation gets is no surprise to me. Truly excellent and great value. stayed in the basement rooms this time, no issues with bookings, early arrival later entry tot he property. This is an ideal site from which to visit Edinburgh

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy_Worcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Hello there. Thanks for posting another lovely review, we are get to hear that we keep meeting your expectations and we look forward to seeing you back soon! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We are into our 4th day if a 6 day stay at the apartment. We have absolutely loved it. There has been no complaints. Room service is awesome. Furnishings are beautiful and everything you need is provided. A grocery store and coffee shop is 2 mins away as is the bus stop. A 10 minute ride from tranquility to the buzz of the city. There is a nice bound book in each room with clear instructions to use every appliance and gadget in the apartment. All useful phone numbers, bus routes, and places to see are clearly identified. We travelled as a family and loved it immensely.

I do have a few suggestions that would only improve something that's already very good. One, a latch inside the bathroom would be good. A copy of the city map for the guest to take would be good.

Would stay here again and recommend this place strongly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anexastihor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hello there

Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments about Merchiston Residence, it's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks also for your feedback, all of which is appreciated. For your next trip, we have maps for guests by the front door, I will check when I am there later that there are plenty and guests are welcome to help themselves.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent 2 nights in these brilliant apartments on a recent visit to Edinburgh and to visit family. They exceeded our expectations, they were spotlessly clean and decorated extremely tastefully. They are located in a very quiet area but still close enough to explore the city of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur_T_W46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our apartments, we really appreciate it.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, the surroundings of Merchiston are so peaceful, particularly in the summer madness, so its good to hear you enjoyed that and your trip to Edinburgh.

We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in apartment 5 on the first floor which has one separate bedroom and another bed on mezzanine level above the bathroom.

The whole appeareance of the place was almost spotless, the only this I noticed was the the groutings between the tiles in the bathroom and kitchen started to desintegrate a little.
The apartments are furnished in a modern style (see already uploaded pictures / website) while reaining the classical elements of the building itself. The provided amenties, whether it's shower gel, towels, bed sheets, cereals, fresh milk,...are top-notch quality.
The TV comes with a DVD player and decent collection of DVD movies...spending a rainy afternoon at the apartment certainly won't get boring.

The location is also very convenient:
Downtown is just 10 to 15 minutes away on foot and there are plenty of Cafés and Restaurants in the area. 'La Barantine', a beautiful little french Café is a great option for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Muh-Sagt-Die-Kuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hello there

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and the location and thanks for posting the restaurant tip, there's nothing like actual recommendations!

Thanks for letting us know about the grout, our bathrooms are being regrouted as soon as the summer madness is over, its impossible to gain access before then. I hope it didn't impact on your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 4 nights. We have been to Edinburgh numerous times & always stay in a hotel the city center. For this trip, we decided to try an apartment in a different area & couldn't have been happier with our choice. The apartment was great, very clean & comfortable with everything we needed. We encountered a few staff members who were all very friendly and helpful. The location is fabulous, with a fairly easy walk to the city center and plenty of buses if you don't feel like walking. There is plenty of green space with some really nice parks and also lots of fun restaurants, shops and a great chippy nearby. We'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio which had a bed in a loft type area which would not be ideal for an older pers...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belfast10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Hello there

Thanks for your review, it's always good to hear the our guests have enjoyed their stay. Well done for finding the green space, maybe of Bruntsfiled Links, which we love! Next time try some of the ice cream from Lucas to follow the chips, it's amazing!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed as a family in the Merchiston Residence in advance of a wedding. The Merchiston Residence was a great choice - it is in a lovely neighbourhood and is beautifully decorated. The booking process was very easy and Fiona from Merchiston Residence was happy to answer some queries over the telephone.

Unlike some serviced apartments, this apartment had some character and there was a genuine feeling of hospitality.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor is nice as it gives your plenty of light and nice views onto the street.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0haTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Merchiston, and that you enjoyed the neighbourhood. We are biased, but it is a lovely quiet spot, and yet seconds from everything you need.

We hope to see you back at Merchiston in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
980 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,385 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchiston Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchiston Residence

Address: 4 Merchiston Avenue, Edinburgh EH10 4NX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $96 - $1,121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchiston Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand Victorian property of 8 luxury serviced apartments set in the cosmopolitan district of Merchiston where visitors are now offered an unrivalled home from home experience. The sumptuous interiors at Merchiston Residence are contemporary and bespoke, exuding sophisticated elegance. Merchiston Residence is a minute’s walk from the fashionable area of Bruntsfield which is home to designer boutique shopping and a myriad of independent eateries, and is a 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute bus or taxi ride into the city centre and the surrounding landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchiston Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchiston Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Merchiston Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing