We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Cozy Design self-service Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merchiston Residence
Ranked #24 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at Merchiston Residence in November for 3 nights. The apartment was very clean and the design was modern and stylish. The apartment was equipped with everything you need. (Kitchen very well equipped). They even provided cereals and some milk in the fridge for us. You can make you own tea and coffee as well. THe apartment has wifi and an entertainment center with a selection of DVDs. we felt very comfortable and safe in the area. Merchiston/Bruntsfield is one of the better areas in Edinburgh with lots of cafes and restaurants right around the corner. I would definitely recommend this apartment complex!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

An excellent review from a satisfied guest - thank you for taking the time to post this, greatly appreciated once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 202 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I feel obliged to write a short review, on the basis that I'm normally the first to speak up if something's below par. In this instance, it's quite the opposite...

I can't find fault with the Merchistone Residence, and thoroughly enjoyed everything about my/our stay there. The building is great, rooms are perfect, an the attentiveness of Fiona, the manager, is something sorely lacking in the industry. On arrival there was a personalised note, breakfast food in the cupboard and milk in the fridge. The room was spotlessly clean, and check-in was a piece of cake with the code system. Location is a nice residential neighbourhood with a local high-street, and probably a nice 15-20 minute walk to Princes Street. Only tiny thing, is the 'Grand Designs' bathroom door, which is translucent glass. Nice, but a bit iffy when there's a group using the apartment..!

Anyway, I would, and have, recommended these apartments to others. If they can impress me, then it's pretty good going..! Thanks..!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob_Abe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your superb review of the apartments/service.

When the apartments were initially designed the owner/architect chose the frosted glass bathroom doors to provide as much light as possible in the smaller bathroom space, however, I can understand what you mean if there is a group of you re the privacy issue! Will pass on your comments..!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

These apartments make a nice change from the usual hotel experience. they would be particularly good for an extended stay - longer than a weekend.
The apartments are stylishly furnished with excellent quality fixtures and fittings - especially the kitchens.
A particular word of praise for the housekeeping - the place was immaculately prepared. Having lived in Germany and Austria I would say that the standard of cleanliness compared very favourably with Germanic standards - not something you can often say about British hotels sadly.
The residence is in a lovely part of the city and is surrounded by good restaurants and cafes which cater for the local,well heeled residents rather than tourists - so offer good value and friendly service.
It is a pleasant 20 min walk into the city centre or there seem to be very frequent busses,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Extremely pleased to receive your lovely review - I completly agree, our housekeepers have super high quality standards with the same attention and care which is so rare these days! We have a very small and hand-picked housekeeping team and our head housekeeper treats the apartments as her own home and cares so much about it. Once again, you love the area which I am extremely pleased about. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

These apartments are absolutely lovely. They are so clean and have everything you need for a weekend away. The code entry system is extremely convenient as there is no need to arrange key collection. This beautiful, traditional building is situated in a lovely part of Edinburgh with fantastic little shops, bars and restaurants near by. Central Edinburgh is in easy reach by frequent buses. We would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Apartment 4 was extremely spacious with two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for your extremely positive review which speaks for itself. Apartment 4 is one of my favourites as it has such a lovely bright open outlook and one of the first apartments which you access upon arrival, so no stairs to climb ..!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Wonderful apartments. Lovely neighbourhood with great shops, cafes and bars. The apartments themselves were spotless and well appointed with extremely welcoming and accomodating staff looking after the property.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Fantastic review, thanks for taking the time to post. The neighbourhood is fabulous and one of the best in Edinburgh and I do hope you come back and stay again. A very safe neighbourhood for girls on their own and in groups and we have lots of groups of girls staying which is great! Another fab review for our fantastic small team of amazing housekeepers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in December 2010 and Merchiston Residence made our trip all the more special. Unfortunately Booking.com sold us a room with the Residence that wasn't available, but Merchiston Residence found us another apartments nearby for the night, then taxi'd us over in the morning.
The apartments are lovely! An unusual system means that big airy victorian rooms become mini apartments that are spacious enough to sleep 4 comfortably. We had one of the rooms with two double beds to choose from and a brilliant kitchen to cook in - very useful for making what could be an expensive city break, a little cheaper when you can stay in!
We also had the 'misfortune' of our 4 night city break turning in to a week when the airport closed due to the mountains of snow that fell on the Edinburgh that weekend. Merchiston Residence were wonderful though and not only let us stay on a night by night basis (incase we managed to catch a flight) but also sorted a taxi to the airport when we finally chanced it.
It's taken me a while to get round to writing this review, but I use Trip Advisor all the time so wanted people to know just how great theses apartments and the people that run them, are!
I can not express my thanks enough for making what could have been a disastrous end to a brilliant break, a fantastic once in a life time stay.
(please note that although I've tagged this as December 2011, we actually stayed there in 2010)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a fantastic review so long after you originally stayed. I have to say that I have never encountered anyone who has done this before so your review was a very pleasant surprise indeed!

That certainly was a freak winter, especially when last winter we had absolutely no snow at all.... !!

Many thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Just beautiful and clean fully self contained and perfect for anyone wishing to stay right near Edinburgh. You can walk into Edinburgh from the apartment a good 20 mins there are plenty of buses and taxi was about £7 on arrival we just pushed the manager button and they give you the code to the building and room Fiona was delightful and friendly once entering the building and our apartment it was beautiful, clean and we could have stayed here for a week or longer, it is modern and has everything required from fully equipped kitchen with washing machine comfortable lounge dining table and huge tv wireless also.
Our apartment had a double bed with another on a mezzanine level perfect for us as we had 3 people.. Would rate this 10 out of 10 best place I have stayed on my journey around Uk

Room Tip: Only thing there is limited parking only two car spots first in gets them and restricted parking ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChezGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

What a fantastic review, thank you so much. I wish we had more parking spaces but I guess 2 is better than none, especially in a city - guests generally seem to be pretty lucky with the parking on the drive or in the parking bays, albeit there can sometimes be problems when it is particularly busy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oakhill Apartments
#3 of 218 in Edinburgh
564 reviews
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchiston Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchiston Residence

Address: 4 Merchiston Avenue, Edinburgh EH10 4NX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $82 - $1,083 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchiston Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand Victorian property of 8 luxury serviced apartments set in the cosmopolitan district of Merchiston where visitors are now offered an unrivalled home from home experience. The sumptuous interiors at Merchiston Residence are contemporary and bespoke, exuding sophisticated elegance. Merchiston Residence is a minute’s walk from the fashionable area of Bruntsfield which is home to designer boutique shopping and a myriad of independent eateries, and is a 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute bus or taxi ride into the city centre and the surrounding landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchiston Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchiston Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Merchiston Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing