We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merchiston Residence
Ranked #21 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

These apartments are absolutely lovely. They are so clean and have everything you need for a weekend away. The code entry system is extremely convenient as there is no need to arrange key collection. This beautiful, traditional building is situated in a lovely part of Edinburgh with fantastic little shops, bars and restaurants near by. Central Edinburgh is in easy reach by frequent buses. We would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Apartment 4 was extremely spacious with two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for your extremely positive review which speaks for itself. Apartment 4 is one of my favourites as it has such a lovely bright open outlook and one of the first apartments which you access upon arrival, so no stairs to climb ..!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 201 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Wonderful apartments. Lovely neighbourhood with great shops, cafes and bars. The apartments themselves were spotless and well appointed with extremely welcoming and accomodating staff looking after the property.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Fantastic review, thanks for taking the time to post. The neighbourhood is fabulous and one of the best in Edinburgh and I do hope you come back and stay again. A very safe neighbourhood for girls on their own and in groups and we have lots of groups of girls staying which is great! Another fab review for our fantastic small team of amazing housekeepers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in December 2010 and Merchiston Residence made our trip all the more special. Unfortunately Booking.com sold us a room with the Residence that wasn't available, but Merchiston Residence found us another apartments nearby for the night, then taxi'd us over in the morning.
The apartments are lovely! An unusual system means that big airy victorian rooms become mini apartments that are spacious enough to sleep 4 comfortably. We had one of the rooms with two double beds to choose from and a brilliant kitchen to cook in - very useful for making what could be an expensive city break, a little cheaper when you can stay in!
We also had the 'misfortune' of our 4 night city break turning in to a week when the airport closed due to the mountains of snow that fell on the Edinburgh that weekend. Merchiston Residence were wonderful though and not only let us stay on a night by night basis (incase we managed to catch a flight) but also sorted a taxi to the airport when we finally chanced it.
It's taken me a while to get round to writing this review, but I use Trip Advisor all the time so wanted people to know just how great theses apartments and the people that run them, are!
I can not express my thanks enough for making what could have been a disastrous end to a brilliant break, a fantastic once in a life time stay.
(please note that although I've tagged this as December 2011, we actually stayed there in 2010)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a fantastic review so long after you originally stayed. I have to say that I have never encountered anyone who has done this before so your review was a very pleasant surprise indeed!

That certainly was a freak winter, especially when last winter we had absolutely no snow at all.... !!

Many thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Just beautiful and clean fully self contained and perfect for anyone wishing to stay right near Edinburgh. You can walk into Edinburgh from the apartment a good 20 mins there are plenty of buses and taxi was about £7 on arrival we just pushed the manager button and they give you the code to the building and room Fiona was delightful and friendly once entering the building and our apartment it was beautiful, clean and we could have stayed here for a week or longer, it is modern and has everything required from fully equipped kitchen with washing machine comfortable lounge dining table and huge tv wireless also.
Our apartment had a double bed with another on a mezzanine level perfect for us as we had 3 people.. Would rate this 10 out of 10 best place I have stayed on my journey around Uk

Room Tip: Only thing there is limited parking only two car spots first in gets them and restricted parking ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChezGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

What a fantastic review, thank you so much. I wish we had more parking spaces but I guess 2 is better than none, especially in a city - guests generally seem to be pretty lucky with the parking on the drive or in the parking bays, albeit there can sometimes be problems when it is particularly busy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just back from a couple of days golfing in Edinburgh and couldnt fault the residence

The rooms are spacious,extremely comfortable and imaculate . Locality suited us well with lots of small brasseries open for a variety of breakfasts lunch and eveing meals.
Access and entry system makes it simple to use.
Cant think of anywhere better in Edinburgh roll on November

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you are coming back to stay again soon. I agree that the local area does have a fantastic selection of restaurants and cafes on the doorstep giving excellent rival alternatives to the city centre offerings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A great place to stay very clean great design in a wonderful old house, good restaurants near will stay again, will recommend to friends.
shops very close parking was fine but it was a weekend so during the week might be tricky?

Room Tip: i am sure all the rooms are similar so all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickos1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Unfortunately city parking is always a bit of an issue. As you mention, during the weekend it is fine as you can park in the pay and display bays on street free of charge, however, during the week this is chargeable between the hours of 0830 and 1730.

On the plus side, we do have the 2 car-parking spaces allocated on a first-come, first-served basis and not that many people bring cars with them so generally most people can be accommodated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have stayed in many places in a lot of cities but have never felt compelled to write a review before.

We selected Merchiston Residence on recommendation and are very happy to have done so. On arrival the place was spotless and beautifully prepared. It was our first time on this side of the city and we were very impressed with the surroundings.

Although this building has an original Victorian facade once you set foot over the threshold you know the whole interior has been meticulously updated. The clever use of space gave the feeling of being in a much larger apartment. The electronic keypad for both external and room doors is a nice touch as there is no chance of losing the key. We were impressed to see the quality of all appliances including dishwasher which made cooking even more pleasurable (no washing up for me). With oven, hob, toaster, plates, glasses etc supplied there was no excuse not to cook.
Shower room fittings were contemporary, stylish and once again spotlessly clean and warm.
The living area is furnished perfectly with comfortable settee, ipod dock, wifi, LCD TV with freeview channels and a great selection of many up to date DVD’s

Princes Street is only fifteen minutes walk or Starbucks and Tesco as well as many bus routes within two minutes could make this an even better option for many.

We had the added pleasure of meeting Norma who made us feel very welcome as well as supplying plenty of useful local information. This was extremely convenient as we were given the opportunity to see a different apartment layout within the building.

To conclude, we booked our next stay at Merchiston Residence before even leaving Edinburgh. That should say a lot.

Room Tip: All rooms are of equal quality and equipment installed. It is only size and layout which changes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

What a superb review. Pleased that you enjoyed the apartments and enjoyed this area of the city which is one of the best areas in Edinburgh. Am also pleased that you met our lovely housekeeper who works tirelessly to ensure that the high standards are retained in each apartment every day and takes an amazing pride in her work which is so rare in many places.

Also liked the fact that you mentioned the helpful point that all the apartments are the same and it is just thesize and layouts which are slightly different!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Oakhill Apartments
#3 of 217 in Edinburgh
563 reviews
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#5 of 217 in Edinburgh
791 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,098 reviews
West End
Haymarket Apartments
Haymarket Apartments
#8 of 217 in Edinburgh
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchiston Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchiston Residence

Address: 4 Merchiston Avenue, Edinburgh EH10 4NX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $79 - $1,147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchiston Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand Victorian property of 8 luxury serviced apartments set in the cosmopolitan district of Merchiston where visitors are now offered an unrivalled home from home experience. The sumptuous interiors at Merchiston Residence are contemporary and bespoke, exuding sophisticated elegance. Merchiston Residence is a minute’s walk from the fashionable area of Bruntsfield which is home to designer boutique shopping and a myriad of independent eateries, and is a 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute bus or taxi ride into the city centre and the surrounding landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchiston Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchiston Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Merchiston Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing