We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merchiston Residence
Nearby Hotels
$236
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$860
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$165
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$236
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$170
$124
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Old Town Chambers(Edinburgh)
$255
$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$139
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$249
$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Travelodge Edinburgh Central(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$82
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
167
32
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
32
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstesco metrothese apartmentscity centreloft bednice studiolovely victorianwasher dryercleaning servicestreet parkingenjoyed our stayfull kitchendvd playerminute walkmodern apartmentfamily staymain bedroomup to date
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 209 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in December 2010 and Merchiston Residence made our trip all the more special. Unfortunately Booking.com sold us a room with the Residence that wasn't available, but Merchiston Residence found us another apartments nearby for the night, then taxi'd us over in the morning.
The apartments are lovely! An unusual system means that big airy victorian rooms become mini apartments that are spacious enough to sleep 4 comfortably. We had one of the rooms with two double beds to choose from and a brilliant kitchen to cook in - very useful for making what could be an expensive city break, a little cheaper when you can stay in!
We also had the 'misfortune' of our 4 night city break turning in to a week when the airport closed due to the mountains of snow that fell on the Edinburgh that weekend. Merchiston Residence were wonderful though and not only let us stay on a night by night basis (incase we managed to catch a flight) but also sorted a taxi to the airport when we finally chanced it.
It's taken me a while to get round to writing this review, but I use Trip Advisor all the time so wanted people to know just how great theses apartments and the people that run them, are!
I can not express my thanks enough for making what could have been a disastrous end to a brilliant break, a fantastic once in a life time stay.
(please note that although I've tagged this as December 2011, we actually stayed there in 2010)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a fantastic review so long after you originally stayed. I have to say that I have never encountered anyone who has done this before so your review was a very pleasant surprise indeed!

That certainly was a freak winter, especially when last winter we had absolutely no snow at all.... !!

Many thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Just beautiful and clean fully self contained and perfect for anyone wishing to stay right near Edinburgh. You can walk into Edinburgh from the apartment a good 20 mins there are plenty of buses and taxi was about £7 on arrival we just pushed the manager button and they give you the code to the building and room Fiona was delightful and friendly once entering the building and our apartment it was beautiful, clean and we could have stayed here for a week or longer, it is modern and has everything required from fully equipped kitchen with washing machine comfortable lounge dining table and huge tv wireless also.
Our apartment had a double bed with another on a mezzanine level perfect for us as we had 3 people.. Would rate this 10 out of 10 best place I have stayed on my journey around Uk

Room Tip: Only thing there is limited parking only two car spots first in gets them and restricted parking around the area ( I was lucky enough to get the park)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChezGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

What a fantastic review, thank you so much. I wish we had more parking spaces but I guess 2 is better than none, especially in a city - guests generally seem to be pretty lucky with the parking on the drive or in the parking bays, albeit there can sometimes be problems when it is particularly busy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just back from a couple of days golfing in Edinburgh and couldnt fault the residence

The rooms are spacious,extremely comfortable and imaculate . Locality suited us well with lots of small brasseries open for a variety of breakfasts lunch and eveing meals.
Access and entry system makes it simple to use.
Cant think of anywhere better in Edinburgh roll on November

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you are coming back to stay again soon. I agree that the local area does have a fantastic selection of restaurants and cafes on the doorstep giving excellent rival alternatives to the city centre offerings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A great place to stay very clean great design in a wonderful old house, good restaurants near will stay again, will recommend to friends.
shops very close parking was fine but it was a weekend so during the week might be tricky?

Room Tip: i am sure all the rooms are similar so all good
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickos1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Unfortunately city parking is always a bit of an issue. As you mention, during the weekend it is fine as you can park in the pay and display bays on street free of charge, however, during the week this is chargeable between the hours of 0830 and 1730.

On the plus side, we do have the 2 car-parking spaces allocated on a first-come, first-served basis and not that many people bring cars with them so generally most people can be accommodated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have stayed in many places in a lot of cities but have never felt compelled to write a review before.

We selected Merchiston Residence on recommendation and are very happy to have done so. On arrival the place was spotless and beautifully prepared. It was our first time on this side of the city and we were very impressed with the surroundings.

Although this building has an original Victorian facade once you set foot over the threshold you know the whole interior has been meticulously updated. The clever use of space gave the feeling of being in a much larger apartment. The electronic keypad for both external and room doors is a nice touch as there is no chance of losing the key. We were impressed to see the quality of all appliances including dishwasher which made cooking even more pleasurable (no washing up for me). With oven, hob, toaster, plates, glasses etc supplied there was no excuse not to cook.
Shower room fittings were contemporary, stylish and once again spotlessly clean and warm.
The living area is furnished perfectly with comfortable settee, ipod dock, wifi, LCD TV with freeview channels and a great selection of many up to date DVD’s

Princes Street is only fifteen minutes walk or Starbucks and Tesco as well as many bus routes within two minutes could make this an even better option for many.

We had the added pleasure of meeting Norma who made us feel very welcome as well as supplying plenty of useful local information. This was extremely convenient as we were given the opportunity to see a different apartment layout within the building.

To conclude, we booked our next stay at Merchiston Residence before even leaving Edinburgh. That should say a lot.

Room Tip: All rooms are of equal quality and equipment installed. It is only size and layout which changes.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

What a superb review. Pleased that you enjoyed the apartments and enjoyed this area of the city which is one of the best areas in Edinburgh. Am also pleased that you met our lovely housekeeper who works tirelessly to ensure that the high standards are retained in each apartment every day and takes an amazing pride in her work which is so rare in many places.

Also liked the fact that you mentioned the helpful point that all the apartments are the same and it is just thesize and layouts which are slightly different!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews