We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright, modern, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merchiston Residence
Ranked #19 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Beautiful Victorian villa with tall ceilings, cleverly converted into serviced appartments. Clean and well appointed. Everything you need for cooking and three supermarkets within 5 mins walking (tesco,waitrose, m&s). No negative points and looking forward to returnt rip with my family....thanks

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Beggarsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Look forward to welcoming you back soon ! We certainly have a good selection of supermarkets in the area if you don't want to eat out all the time !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 200 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was the thrid consecutive year we have "done" the Edinburgh Fringe by staying at the Merchiston Residence. In a different room this time since we had a "non family" guest travelling with us and needed a separate bedroom, but nevertheless the standrd of the appartments and services were as usual second to none.
This place is located perfectly for busses to town as well as having a Tesco amd a Starbucks close by.
We will be booking again for next year

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Worcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

We have 2 apartments with a separate bedroom in them, one of these a 1 bed and the other one a 2 bed which, as the guest mentions, works well if a non-family member is staying as the rest of the apartments are all open-plan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the August bank holiday weekend. The apartment is located in the Bruntsfield area of Edinburgh - a lovely neighbourhood approximately 15-20 mins walk from Princes Street and the main "New Town" part of Edinburgh with all the attractions, shops and Waverley train station nearby. The apartment was situated 50 yards from the main road that goes through Bruntsfield in a lovely leafy street so there is little or no noise from traffic. Buses 11, 15, 15A, 16 and 23 travel on the main road into town and get there within 10 minutes. There is a bus stop less than 100 yards from the apartment and buses are very frequent. Individual trips cost £1.40 no matter what the distance or you can buy a day ticket for £3.50 which gives you unlimited bus travel for the entire day. Tip: you will need exact change.

Aside from convenient transport, there is a Tesco Express at the end of the road next to a Starbucks and also a Sainsbury Local a bit further on. There are also many "neighbourhood" restaurants within a quarter of a mile to include Italian, Indian, Thai, Scottish and good old fish and chips! Whilst you can easily make breakfast in the apartment as all you need is provided (Dualit toaster and kettle, a fridge, oven, hob, plates, cutlery, mugs, glasses etc) we had the most excellent coffee and hot breakfast at a place called Project Coffee opposite the Sainsbury Local - highly recommend for the coffee alone and it's a great place to hang out with the papers. A bus stop is also immediately outside and you can see the buses coming round the corner so you don't get wet if the Scottish weather = rain!

As for the apartment itself, it is decorated to a very high standard. The website shows pictures that we felt were a true representation of the accommodation. Our apartment (number two) is situated on the lower ground floor but is nonetheless very light and airy. All mod cons are high end and we felt incredibly comfortable throughout our stay - much nicer than a hotel. By the second night, we felt like we were "coming home"! The cleaning is to a very high standard and the cleaners were very friendly. Bathroom condiments are high quality (White Company) and the shower itself is fabulously hot and powerful!

Coffee and tea (to include herbal Twinnings) is provided and there was a pint of milk left in the fridge for us and some boxes of cereals too which were unexpected and a nice touch. The sofa is comfortable and the TV a great size with all the usual Freeview channels. There is also a selection of DVDs for you to choose from if you fancy chilling out. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding and cushions very good quality, modern and clean.

We will not hesitate to recommend this accommodation and I am sure we will return at some point in the future with some of our friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotchickPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

This review is extremely thorough and and should definitely give others looking at the site a very good overview of what to expect of the place itself and the surrounding area. Nothing else to add really as the review says it all, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here...great location in Edinburgh and a close enough walk to everything. My 3 girlfriends and I stayed here a couple nights and loved it. The boutique shops and restaurants nearby were great. Housekeeping was nice, as was the lady in charge. My friend booked it and dealt with her mostly, but she stopped by once to see how we were settling and was very sweet. Gave great suggestions on what to do and where to go. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but they worked and we slept well. There were 4 of us in the room and while it was a tight fit it was fun. Breakfast was provided but there were so many close restaurants we used what was provided mainly as snacks. Definitely will be back with my husband and we will be staying here when we come back to Edinburgh!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank heidibadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind review and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This appartment is located only 1.5 miles away from the center of Edinburgh in a fine neighbourhood! Furthermore it is very clean and quiet at night. You'll find there anything you need, from iron, dvd, large tv screen, ipod-station, etc. We would book it again, that's for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

I completely agree, the apartments are located in a lovely neighbourhood of Edinburgh. A lot of single people also stay whether on business or for pleasure and always feel completely safe and at home here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was the perfect apartment accommodation for our family of 4. We stayed here for 7 nights for the first week of the Fringe Festival. The location was perfect, with just a five minute taxi ride into the city centre. The apartment was very clean and very modern. It was great to have a full kitchen, as well as a washer / dryer. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Very pleased that families enjoy the apartments as well as groups of friends and couples.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked this as we were going to see Madonna and had a lovely time here as the accommodation was in a lovely part of the city with its own little street of bistros and bars. It was also only a 5 min taxi ride to the City. I went with girls only and cant wait to take my husband back for a mini break

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pringlegail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchiston4, Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

The street where the apartments are located is lovely and quiet, yet, as you mention the bars, bistros and also shops just round the corner make it a very convenient location if you want to stay in the area without having to go into the city centre for entertainment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,004 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Oakhill Apartments
#3 of 217 in Edinburgh
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Staycity Aparthotels West End
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
West End
Haymarket Apartments
Haymarket Apartments
#8 of 217 in Edinburgh
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchiston Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchiston Residence

Address: 4 Merchiston Avenue, Edinburgh EH10 4NX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $89 - $1,135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchiston Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand Victorian property of 8 luxury serviced apartments set in the cosmopolitan district of Merchiston where visitors are now offered an unrivalled home from home experience. The sumptuous interiors at Merchiston Residence are contemporary and bespoke, exuding sophisticated elegance. Merchiston Residence is a minute’s walk from the fashionable area of Bruntsfield which is home to designer boutique shopping and a myriad of independent eateries, and is a 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute bus or taxi ride into the city centre and the surrounding landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchiston Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchiston Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Merchiston Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing