We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ghillie Dhu

Ghillie Dhu
Ranked #615 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Originally St Thomas Episcopal Church, Ghillie Dhu has been beautifully restored to showcase its traditional features. With an enviable location tucked in at the West End of the city centre, we are a short distance from Haymarket Train Station and directly opposite all major bus routes. Awarded Best Small Venue at the Scottish Event Awards two years running the team pride ourselves on the quality of catering and service we provide.Ghillie Dhu benefits from a dedicated and experienced Events Team who are poised to look after your event from enquiry right through to completion. Our Chef has created a variety of mouth-watering menus from the best produce that Scotland's larder can offer.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Bonnyrigg, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Lots of staff running about, few serving. Turned up at 4.30 pm on Friday and found a table without a 'reserved' card on it. At 5.23 told table was reserved from 5.30 and had to move to one of the central tables with stools (which were also busy). Complained to manager who said it was a problem due to the staff changeover at that time (?). I j told him we were leaving and we would not be coming back. Very poor customer service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    259
    119
    60
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Below Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I don't understand the good reviews for this place, I've been for lunch about 3 times over the last couple of years. Most recently 2 weeks ago. The service is really bad, food over priced for what you get. Maybe I've just been unlucky?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A wedding to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We attended a wedding at this venue and it was excellent in every way. The food was served as a buffet and was top quality and plentiful with a great variety to suit all tastes. The venue itself was beautiful and very atmospheric making a really lovely backdrop to the ceremony and the celebrations. All the bar staff and waiting staff were very friendly and helpful in every way. Would definitely recommend and would not hesitate to return for dinner or drinks again. Great live music in the bar later on at night which would encourage a return visit soon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mazza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good for big groups but not the greatest food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Met up here with around 10 other friends. Managed to get a booth to ourselves which could seat us all which was good. Table service. I had the steak pie and was not over enamoured with it, other liked it but not to my taste. Plenty of meat filling in it though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liam_Edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere with Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

A short walk from Princes Street, i had an enjoyable evening meal with a group of friends here. I ordered the Fish Pie and was given a very generous dish which was excellent and packed full of flavour. A couple of friends ordered the beans on toast which came with a salad and griddled bread, i couldnt believe how high-class they'd made a student staple! Theres a wide variety of spirits, wines and ales to chose from and whilst we were eating there was some live music which added to the atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlecCanwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghillie Dhu also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Ghillie Dhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing