We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
Ranked #66 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

I've just had an excellent two night stay at this hotel. I can't rate the friendliness of the staff highly enough, and this applies to every single member of staff I spoke to. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was comfortable and very clean, with 30 minutes free wifi access per day thrown in free. There isn't a hair dryer in the room, but that's not a problem- just ask to borrow one from reception. Breakfast was fine- a variety of continental and cooked breakfast food. There's a bar beside reception and also vending machines for drinks and snacks. Meals are also served at night. As others have said, the hotel is on a good bus route. The bus stop is right outside the hotel, and is served by services 3, 7, 8, 29, 31, 37, 47 and 49 and night buses N3, N31 and N37. If you are in the town centre, one place you can catch these buses is on the middle of North Bridge, just round the corner from Waverley Station. I'll definitely be staying here again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank forss10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 874 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Although we have stayed in most of the central based travelodges in Edinburgh, this was our first visit to Cameron Toll. We were attracted to it because we had the car with us on this occasion and needed parking. We knew the location and were aware that it was on a really good bus route for getting into the city centre which was a priority.
We were given a really friendly welcome when we arrived by the male receptionist (I wish I had noted his name) and we were happy with our room on the top floor at the back of the hotel which we had phoned ahead to request. It had a lovely view and was quiet affording us a good nights sleep. We didn't use the bar/restaurant area so I can't comment on these areas.
The buses outside the hotel are plentiful and regular so need to use the car and there is a large shopping centre within easy walking distance.
We thoroughly enjoyed our one nights stay and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one on the top floor at the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScfamilyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed at the cameron toll for 3 nights what a wonderful relaxing place to stay. Melvin at reception is a really nice person always seems to be everywhere full of information and always cheerful really made our stay enjoyable. The only downfall I would say is that there's not really a mirror to sit and do your make up or hair but I managed to cope all in all a wonderful place staff really helpfull and polite five stars from us :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suexian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Excellent quality and value for money. I use the chain frequently and particularly the Cameron toll unit. I was as always impressed with the room and all the facilities. The staff were attentive especially at reception and in the bar and restaurant

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hotel is extremely well placed for the city centre....only a very short bus ride into city, bus stop right outside hotel...and taxi's very reasonable. Free car park a bonus. The hotel is extremely clean & the staff are very cheerful & helpful. Bar & restaurant very good & another bonus! Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank janetandandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Booked this place after reading reviews on trip advisor. Glad we did. The place is clean, the staff fantastically friendly and the room had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The room is pretty basic but that's fine with us. The staff let us check in several hours early and leave our bags for 5 hours after we'd checked out, enabling us to spend effectively another day in Edinburgh.The hotel was also very quiet so we got a great night's sleep. It's really easy to get into Edinburgh on the very frequent buses which pick up and drop off right outside. Get a £3.50 day pass for the Lothian buses or a £17 week pass and you can hop on and off at ease all over the area. Also great breakfast, cooked plus toast, cereal, fruit and yoghurt. Would definitely recommend and will stay there again the next time we're in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was our 2nd time at this travelodge and there has been a big improvement to the rooms.The kingsize bed was extra comfy and so were the pillows. We were facing the car park so there was very little noise.
The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. The breakfast was well worth the money, there was plenty of choice and was replenished quite frequently.
There are bus stops outside, which run every 10 minutes. An all day ticket costs £3.50, you can use it as many times as you like within the same day.
The drinks are a very reasonable price in the cafe bar and the meals are reasonable too.We had a bbq chicken pizza after a night out and did not expect it to be as big and tasty as it was.

This travelodge is in a perfect location, free parking and within easy access to the city centre. There is also a shopping centre directly across the road

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trotskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth
#114 of 151 in Edinburgh
396 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#118 of 151 in Edinburgh
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll

Address: 43 Craigmillar Park | Cameron Toll, Edinburgh EH16 5PD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#62 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $56 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Cameron Toll is a 115 bedroom hotel, rooms types include: - Double and twin rooms with en-suite shower facilities. - Family rooms with en-suite bath / shower facilities - Accessible rooms with wet rooms en-suite and emergency call points. Reception is manned 24 hours a day. Bar cafe service includes breakfast, evening meals and a licenced bar. Car parking is on a first come first serve basis. 5 Accessible parking spaces can be found to the front of the building. Local Facilities: Cameron Toll shopping centre is a short distance away and has petrol filling station on site. Kings Buildings University Buildings. Commonwealth Swimming Pool. Royal Infirmary Hospital - Lothian bus numbers to the hospital include 7, 8 and 49. Buses in to the city centre are regular. Please ask at reception for any additional information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll Hotel Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing