We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christian...
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 26, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed a week at the Midkinleith Farm Holiday Cottage in March 2018. This was our best stay in Scotland. The owners are wonderful, very helpful, very kind. the rental is 20 minutes from Edinburgh, and the view of the city, the sea and the bridges are extraordinary. There is plenty of ballad to do in the moors next door. We will come back. It's just perfect .....

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes B
1 review
“A magical time in a magical place”
Reviewed April 5, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We’ve had a truly magical time here on the Midkinleith Farm and can’t thank Richard and Dawn enough for all their kindness and wonderful hospitality.

We’ve moved to the farm with our newborn baby and were lucky enough to have stayed here for the entire winter. The experience of swapping a city lifestyle for a cosy cottage in the hills has inspired us to live in the countryside in the future.

Here are our top highlights:
• Our superb hosts, Richard and Dawn
• A very cosy & comfortable cottage which felt like home
• A spacious and well-equipped kitchen, a comfy bed, a huge garden, a cosy living room, fluffy towels, a barn, a driveway, the deepest sink in the world, lots of space to rest, dine and play.
• Having hills on our doorstop and being able to set off for a walk at a drop of a hat. A pop-up café at the Harlaw reservoir was our particular weekend favourite
• Stunning views and surroundings- every time we saw a deer, a grouse, a falcon, a fox and a squirrel from a kitchen window - such a privilege
• A unique lifestyle that comes with being in a place like Midkinleith
• Being so close to the city while feeling remote at the same time
• Facilities in the villages – We must have eaten at least 2 dozen scones @ Mollys
• Balerno minis (local baby group)
• Getting snowed-in and all the fun that comes with it!

Such a memorable winter for all of us and what a place to call home with a little one. We are so inspired by our time on the farm and hope to settle down in a place like Midkinleith one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, quiet, with fabulous views”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

It was a perfect location, very comfortable, close to lots of good things to do, with a. very good pub at the bottom of the hill. The hosts were very welcoming and provided us with lots of good things in the kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and it was very quiet.The couple were so nice that I am loathe to say anything derogatory but the seating could do with an update! I would like to thank them for a very enjoyable few days.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panderies
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Time in Scotland”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Excellent
Thanks for the enjoyable stay.iy was a perfect spot for us to stay two weeks
Cheers.
Margaret

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald C
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The location is excellent - very close to the Pentland hills”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is a great place to stay. Easy to get into Edinburgh by number 44 bus, but you probably need a car, as the steep hill and distance to Currie village is challenging to walk. The Pentland national park is right on the door step and the walks are beautiful.
The cottage is well appointed and very comfortable. The Spencers are very friendly and looked after us well, yet respected our privacy.
Three glorious weeks, will go again. I came from Currie and this was a perfect way to return for a visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenP197...
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Easter”
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely accommodation, clean and spacious, everything we could have required. Stayed for 5 nights 2 adults & 2 kids + dog. Great welcome pack to get us started after a long journey from the Midlands. Excellent links with Edinburgh & surrounding area. Just what we wanted, would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arno S
1 review
“Stunning view over Edinburgh compared with a good bus connection to the inner city”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Located at the foot of the Pentland Hills, it's a perfect place to stay for hiking.
On the other side, the good bus connection invites to take trips into the inner city of Edinburgh, even without possesing a car (approximately a 15-minute-walk to the bus station, the drive on the bus itself will take a bit less than half an hour till you're at Princess Street). The busses also drive every hour during Saturday night.
Looking forward to the next stay!

Gelegen am Fuße der Pentland Hills ist die Cottage perfekt um in ebenjenen wandern zu gehen.
Andererseits gibt es eine sehr gute Busverbindung in die Innenstadt, so ist es gut möglich Ausflüge in die Innenstadt zu machen, auch ohne ein Auto zu besitzen (15 min zu Fuß zur Haltestelle, bisschen weniger als ne halbe Stunde zur Princess Street).
Die Busse fahren Samstagnachts stündlich.
Freu mich schon auf den nächsten Aufenthalt!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing