We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, staff could be more welcoming!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Ranked #95 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Berksire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, staff could be more welcoming!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great location, centre of Edinburgh, not a hotel for quiet break due to surrounding pubs. Staff not very welcoming and let hotel down. Room 403 is huge, but shower only drips. Recommended for city stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Claire008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    193
    74
    34
    18
See reviews for
59
251
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel is ideally placed for all attractions. A stones throw from the bus terminal from the airport. Pubs restaurants close by and the usual good standard from Travelodge. Very happy with my 4 night stay and would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Managed to get in here at a cheap price booked a couple of months in advance for a hen do. Did early check in for £10 for the room and dumped the bags. Room was reasonable, clean and basic as one would expect. No air con, and windows don't open due to safety reasons, thermostat on the radiator was dubious. Bed nice and comfy however no extra bedding or blankets in the room. There was a busker outside on Rose Street who's recurrent renditions of Oasis in a Scottish accent until the wee small hours was a bit grating. However, when he did finally pack it in the noise from the late night revellers couldn't be heard. All in all considering how cheap the room was it was great value and would recommend it as a budget place to stay slap bang in the middle of town. Saying that the Edinburgh Central just a few minutes away on Meuse Lane or "Princess Street" was superior.

Room Tip: consider staying at the Princess Street one a few minutes away, or ask for one not overlooking Rose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HBSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

great place to stay for visiting Edinburgh, quite central and within walking distance of most places.plenty of places to eat and drink nearby and relatively quiet, ( apart from the busker) but he did leave at a reasonable time

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angiej57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloch
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Central for visiting all the tourist places and very good for food and drink
Stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Edinburgh as a 'tourist' form Loch Lomond and managed to see all within walking distance of the hotel

Room Tip: try and get a top room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for the Easter weekend (April 2014) and having not been to Edinburgh before we just wanted something cheap and cheerful and pretty central as we knew all we would be doing is sleeping there.

Located down a very cute and cobbled street with no access for vehicles, it was absolutely ideal. Lots of pubs, bars and restaurants so we expected it to be quite noisy but the only noise we could hear was from the karaoke bar located directly underneath our room (111).

That aside, the room was extremely spacious, very high ceilings, teas and coffees replenished every day, huge windows with plenty of light, and a very comfy bed!

£208 for two people for 3 nights (over Easter weekend).

All in all, a very pleasant stay and I would definitely consider staying again when returning to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLM2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
387 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I've stayed in this particular travelodge on quite a few occasions and have always been entirely satisfied. If you can get it at a good price it can't be beaten for value and location.
I always find the staff very helpful and friendly and although the reception is not manned 24hrs a day someone will always appear if you need them.
On my recent visit, my request for a room on the fourth floor at the front was met as it always is. I have always found this the ideal location for a quiet night despite the fact it is on a busy thoroughfare. I stayed three nights and unfortunately on my last night the bar below must have had live music on which went on until 1am and even up on the fourth floor was quite noisy.
When I have stayed previously, I was aware of vehicles using the lane below quite early for deliveries etc but as I am normally up early I have never found this a problem.
Unfortunately on this occasion after not getting to sleep until after 1am the bin lorry arrived at 7am to collect the empty bottles from the surrounding bars and you can imagine the noise that makes.
Despite this recent experience, I would stay in this travelodge again as the location is superb and I'm usually out from early morning until late evening when in Edinburgh but would like others to be aware that there can be a noise issue when staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScfamilyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Address: 37-43 Rose Street, Edinburgh EH2 2NH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street Hotel Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing