We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just try it”

Omar Khayyam Indian Restaurant
Ranked #340 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“just try it”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

2nd time been here, and the 2nd time unable to finish the portion, , huge chunks of lamb that melted in my mouth,
will be back next time i'm through

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ricky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    154
    52
    37
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If what you want isnt on the menu - ask.”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was made a beautiful lamb saag gosht, my friend had a lamb tikka which he thought was really tasty. Very quiet Wednesday night when we went, service was attentive, not much atmosphere but the food made up for it. Imagine it will be busy on a weekend.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gailygirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Myself and my fiance ate here while on a short break to Edinburgh - I had been raving about it having previously visited many years ago. Our starters were good although we were charged over £4 for poppadoms and spiced onions (something that most restaurants give you free) our mains came and I could tell my chicken korma had been reheated however it tasted fine so I continued to eat until I found a "little black curly hair" to my horror ! I immediately called for the manager for him to ask me "what do you want me to do?" I was at this point sick to my stomach and Just wanted out - had previously suggested this restaurant to many people - now I will tell them to stay clear!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Charmainestirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The food here is amazing but make sure you book a table.

This was our 3-4th visit during a weekend away in Edinburgh; in fact we cannot go to Edinburgh now without going here to eat. All through our meal people were coming in and queuing for tables, which in itself speaks volumes.

From the moment you walk in the door your nose will be assaulted with the most delicious smells you can imagine and the food certainly matches up to your early expectations. The service is attentive without being overbearing and to say how busy they were, we were certainly not kept waiting over-long.

The location is ideal, right opposite Haymarket station and the buses into the centre of Edinburgh stop right outside making it very easy to get here and back to wherever you are staying.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JayGee1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic naan, average curry”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The madras curry was just ok, lack of spicies taste, just medium hot...the naan bread however was possibly the best I've had so far...service was ok, although check back happened when I almost finished the meal and had no drink for about 10 minutes...anyway, was quite ok visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omar Khayyam Indian Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Omar Khayyam Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing