We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funny Funny Funny!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stand Comedy Club

The Stand Comedy Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Intimate purpose-built comedy club open 7 nights a week.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Funny Funny Funny!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

15 lads on a stag do went to this comedy club for the Sunday lunch time show. In short.....it was hilarious, possibly one of the best stand up clubs I've ever been to. Food and beer was great too!! And as a bonus the Sunday lunch time show was FREE!!!

Helpful?
Thank Gregg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    136
    26
    18
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“really cool underground club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Really liked the venue, dark and atmospheric. Comedians were good and bar prices are fair. Staff were friendly and happy to provide quick service. Didn't eat here ourselves, but people seemed to get their food quickly and with not much waste left on their plates! You must get here early if you want a seat!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank vickyuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

£10 for a ticket to watch 5 different up-and-coming comedians - absolute bargain! Great night, decently priced drinks, fab atmosphere, if you get the chance go to see Susan Morrison. Apparently they do food as well, get in early for a seat at a table for the performance.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Packed like sardines”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Arrived at the Pub around 7.30pm to find all seats taken, returned near to 9pm where we were packed like sardines. Friends had to leave due to the excessive heat after 15 mins. Staff continually squeezing past to get to the bar delivering staff meals and drinks, disrupting the view. One member of staff approached regarding his activities where he instructed her to separate from her husband and move. Supervisor challenged regarding the number of people within and attitude of staff. Assured that it was within the limits. Then witnessed one male in a party allowed in without a ticket. How many more people walked in like that I wonder.
Pity we had to leave due to the conditions. Nothing to do with the acts. Be warned. I certainly won't be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandBoxOffice, Public Relations Manager at The Stand Comedy Club, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi there,

We are really sorry that your experience at The Stand didn't live up to expectations. We take all comments seriously and would be happy to discuss this with you if you email admin@thestand.co.uk

On a Saturday night you really do have to arrive around doors opening to be guarranteed a seat, although I can reassure you that we always operate within the fire safety limits with regards to the number of people we have in the venue. Our self emposed capacity is actually less than the limit set because we do appreciate that the club can feel packed on a busy night.

Without having been there in person I can't comment on the actions of our staff, so if you were to email us we could certainly look into this matter. Our aim is to provide the best evening's entertainment possible, and anything that can help us do this is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Jam packed with laughs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

1st time here. Was very crowded but the acts were great. Diverse mix and tastes to suit all. The Hecklers were dealt with Hilariously. The food was outstanding as well. Fantastic venue for a night out.... £15 but you are there for a couple of hours. Best get there early though as limited seats and tables.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluenosejock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stand Comedy Club also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Stand Comedy Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing