We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Quality Accommodation”
Review of Oakhill Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oakhill Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Last month my wife and I had the pleasure of visiting Edinburgh for a short break, friends highly recommended we book one of Oakhill Apartments where they had stayed on a previous visit to the City.

Their recommendation was highly justified as the accommodation certainly surpassed all our expectations which included a very warm welcome, cleanliness, ambiance and superb quality of furnishings together with a very generous welcome pack with full continental breakfast.

Oakhill Apartments are ideal for the business traveller as well as leisure and I would certainly use them on my next business trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank meg186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 572 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2011

Relocated from US with wife and child...first class service started at airport pickup and continued throughout our stay. Property was perfectly located, exquisitely decorated and well appointed. Staff went above and beyond, well above and beyond and truly is on call 24-7. My son misplaced a favorite blanket in the laundry, the housekeeping team in the same day found it, professionally cleaned it, and delivered it back to us along with a great teddy bear gift before his morning nap. wow. This was my families first international relocation, and Oakhill made it a tremendous success.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank x23853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Very helpful staff when booking the apartments, nothing was a problem for them. We cancelled the first booking December due to snow and re-booked for January at no extra cost or cancellation fees. I requested 2 travel cots and 2 highchairs, they were already in the apartment and assembled for us with suitable bedding. The welcome breakfast pack was far more than I imagined and very thoughtful.
The beds, well I would loved to have slept in it longer, but too many small children cut that lovely experience short! Plenty fluffy towels, toiletries, fully loaded kitchen with everything I needed to cook for 6.
It was lovely and warm, near too warm sometimes but easy to control thermostat in hall. The lift was great, twin pram fitted in easily.
We used the no.1 bus up to Princes Street, easy and convientent.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaBenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We came to oakhill apartments for hog many 2010 what a find! Spotlessly clean very well equipped amazing bathrooms and bedrooms and five star decor couldn't rave enough definitely would recommend oakhill apartments to everyone and stay here again in fact I am going to book for next new year! Oakhill apartments have left us with amazing memories good times were had by all! We love Edinburgh! X

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SianyRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh for Hogmanay 2010.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Oakhill and The Edinburgh New Year celebrations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and for New Year 2011/12.

Kindest Regards

Hollie

Hollie Russell
Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Just returned from a stay in a 2 bedroom apartment at Oakhill and having read the reviews we were expecting it to be good but it was even better than expected. The apartments are well equipped, modern, spacious and spotlessly clean. The towels and bedding are good quality and the welcome pack was a great idea. If you need extra supplies, there is a Tesco supermarket just a few minutes walk away. The apartment has a flat screen TV with Sky Plus and a DVD player, with free Wifi connection and free telephone calls for up to 59 minutes per call. The information pack is really useful and covers everything from eating in, eating out and details of a local taxi company, who would arrive in less than 5 minutes from calling. A taxi to Princes Street costs about £7. The only downside is the check out time of 10am which is a little on the early side, particularly at the weekend. Otherwise, an extremely enjoyable, value for money stay and we will definitely be returning and recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Stayed over night to make a birthday celebration for my daughter who lives in Edinburgh. Car park on the door step. Opened the door to the apartment- Wow! The apartment was perfect. Good standard of furnishings & decor, very clean and thick fluffy towels in bathroom. Beds comfy and welcoming. Large flat screen TV in Loung and free wi fi. Kitchen spick and span. Cerial & bread provided with spread & milk in fridge, tea,coffee & sugar, Jam & marmalade.
Husband cooked a fab 2 course meal and daughter brought the cheeses. Much wine and merriment. Will definately be going to Oakhill again when we stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiveofninewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

There isn't much else to add to all the positive reviews. The place is simply perfect. We stayed here for 2 weeks in August (during the festival period) - got an excellent price and found a spotless apartment. We got to stay on the top floor - the views were breathtaking, On one side you could see the ocean on the other the old town and the castle. We actually even saw the fireworks from the Tattoo festival on Sundays. The manager(s) were very helpful and everything was organized perfectly by them. You have to walk about 25 minutes to get to High Street but the buses run regularly. However getting a bus ticket for more than one day can truly be a pain. If you are not in Edinburgh for a very long time, you can either get single fare tickets (I think it was £1.20 - you need to have the exact coins ready once you get on the bus, otherwise you won't get any change) or a day ticket for £3 (highly recommended because you can hop on and off at any time and on any lothian bus).
So overall, this is the one and only place that I'll stay at next time I'm in the Burgh :-)!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hatschii1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#60 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#5 of 218 in Edinburgh
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakhill Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhill Apartments

Address: Thorntree Park | 3 Thorntreeside, Edinburgh EH6 8FE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $93 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oakhill Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for the business and leisure community Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh offer all the comforts of a hotel with the luxury of living space, quality service and excellent facilities. All our accommodation is fully equipped with state of the art kitchens, master bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, free private parking, Freeview television, free WiFi broadband and much, much more. Prices start from £79.00 per night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oakhill Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakhill Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing