We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little pad, ideal for family life away from home!”
Review of Oakhill Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakhill Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked to stay at Oakhill apartments for two nights in preparation for the Edinburgh Marathon, We stayed in a two bed apartment with our two young children (2&6) and the rooms were perfectly sized for all the family. Lovely and clean with all the modern amenities you need, I was even able to cook one night as the kitchen was fully equipped, There is a Tesco's supermarket very local to the apartment's in walking distance which was handy. The only downside to the kitchen was the lack of storage for the items of food I had taken along with us but that could soon be sorted out with a re jig of the cupboard's.
The bedrooms were comfortable with plenty of storage, however very warm bedding, could do with a lighter tog quilt oh and darker curtains in bedroom, Only because my two year old woke at 5:30am because of the sun, Not that I'm complaining about the sun as we had a glorious weekend, weather wise!
The staff were very welcoming and accommodating, Free parking, sky tv and free Wi-Fi were some of the added bonuses to these apartments.
The city was a short walk away from the apartments but the buses were running frequently and easy to catch. Overall a lovely stay was had by our family here I would definitely recommend/return in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Oakhill apartments.
We are glad that you found the apartment to be a good size for your families stay and that you also felt that the location was ideal for you to enjoy the city and have access to a supermarket.
We have taken your comments on board regarding the bedding and we now have some lighter duvets on there way. Congratulations on running the marathon and we look forward to welcoming you back to Oakhill soon.

Best regards,

Oakhill Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 576 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were lucky to find Oakhill Apartments at short notice after the disappointment of viewing the original apartments we booked which we had to walk away from. We were welcomed by Greg who could not have been more helpful. The apartment was fantastic. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean, warm and plenty of hot water. Parking is free and access to the city centre is simple with a frequent bus service on the doorstep. Looking forward to our return visit.

Norma Skye

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normaskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Oakhill apartments. We were delighted when you booked last minute and even happier that you felt the apartment was clean and comfortable and also situated in an area that was accessible for everything you wished to do.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Oakhill apartments soon.


Best wishes,

Oakhill apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

How do I start this review, we found Oakhill Apartments through the Laterooms website. We booked for two nights for a one bedded apartment. On the morning of our arrival we got a courtesy call asking when roughly we would arrive to make sure everything is ready for us. The oakhill is very easy to find, on arrival a member of staff showed us around the apartment and explained how everything worked. We were put into a 3 bedded apartment which was a complete bonus, the apartment decor is out of this world. It has a dishwasher, washer/dryer, sky plus, large flat screen tv to name a few things. They supply you with coffee, tea,sugar,dish washer tablets, washing tablets, towels, tea towels and so much more. The bed is so comfortable we slept like babies, there was no noise from other apartments or outside. The car parking is free, a Tesco two minutes away, a bus stop two minutes away and you can travel as much as you want for £3.50 a day. The staff are very welcoming and give you a very personal service. The only problem I have is why is the oakhill apartments 4th on trip advisor they should be 1st!! I would highly recommend staying here as we have stayed in numerous hotels in Edinburgh including a couple of 5 star and this place puts them to shame. So please try the oakhill because this place is Edinburghs very own hidden gem

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hercher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhillApartments, General Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Oakhill apartments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us finding the location to be convenient for you to access the city and surrounding areas. We were also pleased to hear you found the apartment to have all the amenities you required in order to make your stay comfortable and that you enjoyed a good night sleep and our beds were comfortable. Finally thank you for describing us as a " a hidden gem"

We look forward to welcoming you back to Oakhill apartments again soon.

Kind regards,

Oakhill apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We booked Oakhill apartments earlier in the year for a 3 nights as short break after christmas, as it look modern and well furnished with hotel style bedrooms but self catering. It was only a very short bus ride from the city centre and a 5 minute walk from a local super market. It was extreamly well equipt with free wifi, all kitchen equiptment, Large Tv and DVD player and Sky tv! The beds and room were very comfortable with lovely furnishings. We found the staff very helpful and polite with an easy check in and they printed and brought up some tickets we needed also. We were able make use of the large DVD collection they had at the hotel reception which was great for a night in! We will 100% use Oakhill Apartments again it was an extreamly good stay!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somapal_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Oakhill apartments.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be helpful for you to make your way around the city. We are also pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and finally you were able to make use of our DVD collection for your cosy night in!

We hope to welcome you back to Oakhill apartments again very soon.

Kind regards,

Oakhill apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked Oak hill as was in a good position, free parking, good and quick response to our e-mails and we could cook our own food. I booked the top floor flat which is worth is for the view and quiet. Comfy beds luxury furniture which made us feel pampered. My parents were stunned and love it. Great service and very kind and prompt staff.

Room Tip: Top Floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clean21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Oakhill apartments. We are delighted to hear that you found the apartments to be in a good quiet position, and that you enjoyed our beds and furniture. We are also very pleased to hear that our staff were prompt in looking after your booking. If we can ever look after you again in Edinburgh please don't hesitate to contact us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family to Oakhill apartments again soon.

Kind regards,

Rosie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed in these apartments for a birthday trip to Edinburgh.
We upgraded to a luxury 2 bedroom apartment, fully decorated by the amazing staff as a birthday surprise for my wife, along with a bottle of wine, amazing cake and rose petals spread over the bed.
The apartment itself was fantastic, very clean, well presented, quiet and in an ideal location.
Sky television and wifi access are provided as standard.
There is plenty of parking outside the block and public transport is within a minutes walk.
Although you are provided with a 'welcome hamper' to get you started, Tesco is less than 3 minutes away to stock up on all those essentials.
The apartments are positioned between the city and Ocean terminal, a shopping area and home to the Royal Yacht Britannia. We found this position to be excellent, just far enough from the city for the rest but close enough not to be an inconvenience.
Well recommended !!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichJCalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Oakhill apartments. We are glad that you and your wife enjoyed your experience at Oakhill and that we were able to help you celebrate the birthday visit to Edinburgh in style. We are also delighted to hear that you found the room to be full of everything you may require for your visit and our location provided you with easy access to the city centre but also to the shore.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Oakhill apartments soon.

Kind regards,

Oakhill apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spent the weekend in apartment 10 for a birthday treat! Staff had left me a beautiful cake and card in the apartment, what a thoughtful thing for them to do, very much appreciated! Young girl who checked us in and showed us round, was very friendly and helpful! Cannot add anything else to what has been said in previous reviews! Everything was just perfect! We booked through Booking.com, got a good discount off the full price! Used the No 1 bus all weekend, so handy for apartments and cheap! Will difinitely be returning to Oakhill, hope I don`t have to wait until next birthday!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Oakhill apartments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday weekend and that you found the apartment to be "beautiful". We are also glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and we hope that we will be welcoming you back to Oakhill very soon.

Kind regards,

Oakhill apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,094 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,898 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#6 of 218 in Edinburgh
817 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakhill Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhill Apartments

Address: Thorntree Park | 3 Thorntreeside, Edinburgh EH6 8FE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $102 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oakhill Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for the business and leisure community Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh offer all the comforts of a hotel with the luxury of living space, quality service and excellent facilities. All our accommodation is fully equipped with state of the art kitchens, master bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, free private parking, Freeview television, free WiFi broadband and much, much more. Prices start from £79.00 per night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Oakhill Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakhill Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing