We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Oakhill Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakhill Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Highly recommended. Good value, convenient location, good parking, excellent apartment, friendly efficient service, top class amenities, no hassles, home from home. A hidden gem. The generous proportion of the rooms and the fact that you can move freely from room to room, as if at home, is so much more relaxing than a hotel.

Room Tip: The double apartments are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    69
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
201
154
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Along with a group of friends, I spent the weekend in Edinburgh, choosing to stay at Oakhill Apartments. Having opted for hotels in the past, this was my first stay at an apartment, and I certainly wasn't disappointed.

The apartments were of a very high standard, with a well equipped kitchen, and large seating area. Despite sharing an apartment with two friends, the accommodation still felt spacious enough that we had a comfortable stay.

We opted for the welcome pack, which contained an excellent selection of cereals, biscuits, fruit juice, milk, crisps and jams. The apartments also offer a affiliated taxi service which we used numerous times, and the bus to the city centre takes only ten minutes.

Overall a very enjoyable stay, and will recommend to others

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evdokios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My friends and I spent 2 nights here and cannot find one negative thing to say. Comfortable and luxurious- I didn't want to go home! I enjoy the freedom that self catering offers, however sometimes it feel like you need to take the kitchen sink with you. we opted for the welcome pack that included bread, fresh milk, crisps biscuits, jams and marmalades, until we found our bearings but we need not have worried since tesco was 2 minutes away. The pack was lovely though and well worth it. Perfect location, will definitely come again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loucro82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here at the weekend with a group of friends for a theatre trip, we had 4 apts and stayed for 2 nights. The apts were of a very high standard and decorated amazingly. I would highly recommend these for any Edinburgh stay. They were far enough out of the centre so it was quiet but close enough you could walk in under 30 mins. We opted to get taxis but if there were 4 of you in taxi was only a couple of pounds each which is a bargain! Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay and we had a fab weekend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelface82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My family and I stayed for four nights over Hogmanay.
We found it really easy to make our booking and the management were helpful and friendly.

Upon arrival we were shown to the appartment which was warm, clean and with recently purchased moderd furniture etc.

Both bedrooms and both bathrooms were well furnished and offered everything we needed.

The free parking was a real bonus, as was the lift.
The location was also good, as there is a bus stop right outside which takes you into the city centre and a Tesco so that you can stock up on all your food items.

Towels, tea, coffee, milk, sugar, dishwasher tabs and washing machine tabs are all provided.

All the appliences worked well, including the free wi fi and sky +.

Would stay here again, no problem as its clean, good location and quality, plus very quiet and peaceful at night.

Room Tip: Phone up and ask the managment, they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rangestormer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lovely well appointed apartments but lacking some service. The wind was blowing through the bedroom window and despite asking reception to sort it out it was very cold and very uncomfortable.
Would stay there again but feel that customer services needs some working on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Me and my fiancé (he propsed to me new years eve in the apartment!!) stayed here for Hogmanay. We arrived on 30th december and stayed until 2nd jan. As soon as we got there we were greeted by Samo who was lovely and made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. The apartment was very well equipped with every facility you would need for your stay. Very stylish and comfortable. The apartment had a very homely feel to it... we didnt want to leave!! Deffinately recommended :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samwham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,836 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
960 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakhill Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhill Apartments

Property: Oakhill Apartments
Address: Thorntree Park | 3 Thorntreeside, Edinburgh EH6 8FE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Oakhill Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for the business and leisure community Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh offer all the comforts of a hotel with the luxury of living space, quality service and excellent facilities. All our accommodation is fully equipped with state of the art kitchens, master bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, free private parking, Freeview television, free WiFi broadband and much, much more. Prices start from £79.00 per night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakhill Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakhill Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing