We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great stay”
Review of Oakhill Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakhill Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Once again excellent, every visit we keep waiting to see if standards have slipped, but no yet again superb.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kkn12711919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 576 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were amazed by the Oakhill apartments from the moment we walked in the door - the apartments look amazing, are extremely well finished and are very comfortable. The attention to detail from this place is what makes it stand out even more. This includes pdf files of maps, bus timetables and routes that you receive when you book, personal reviews of nearby bars and restaurants from the staff and the selected tourist guides that they leave in the apartment, a basket of welcome groceries and milk and the colour co-ordination of the whole apartment. The place was great, less than 30 minute walk to Princes Street and on regular bus routes. The only very slight negative was that our apartment was not air conditioned, and was quite warm, even in September. Highly recommended and we would stay there again next time we're in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pasty101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

From stepping out of the taxi to leaving 4 days later this was a magical experience. We were met by an extremley friendly and welcoming representative who showed us around our appartment. The decor was second to none and very tastefully furnished. It was just like being home from home. Cleanliness was first class and attention to detail was obvious from the moment we stepped inside. We were left an excellent welcome pack full of basic provisions for our first night and breakfast. A Tesco supermarket was 5 minutes walk away and bus stops (£3.20 for a day ticket) a short stroll away. A 10 minute bus or taxi journey into city centre made getting around a piece of cake. We will certainly be recommending these appartments to friends and family and hope to be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed in a (2 bed) apartment while 'doing' the fringe. Oakhill was very much as advertised; the place was well appointed, spacious and well equipped. The staff that we met (Greg and the girls servicing the apartments) were friendly and very helpful. The location was good - a brisk 25 minute walk into town, but frequent buses available if the walk was unpalatable. A supermarket is close by and a number of good restaurants in the area. Great views both ways - of the Firth and the City. Overall a very pleasant and convenient alternative to a hotel - we will look to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed at Oakhill Apartments during our stay in Edinburgh. The service on arrival was very good. We were shown to our apartment, which was quite a surprise. The modern decor and 'new' feeling throughout was good to see.

A taxi to Princess street cost £10.00, due to the stay coinciding with the Military Tattoo and the streets being very busy.

The Royal Yacht Britannia and shopping attractions in Leith were only a two minute drive from the apartments.

All in all, the apartments are of a very high standard, the service received from Mark at check-in was very good. The only slight negative factor was the price of almost £200 per night, especially with it being a non-City Centre location (possibly due to a price hike during the Tattoo, as the average price on tripadvisor states £86-199). A stay of only one night meant we only spent a few hours aside from sleeping, prior to check-out.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c8nrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Very well equipped, shinily clean, spacious, funky decor: - black glass, chrome, black and white wallpaper, silvered cushions, etc.
Also quiet and convenient for local shops and the Leith area - but not, however, quite so handy for the centre of Edinburgh - taxis or buses are necessary.
I would stay there again, though - and I would certainly look out for more apartments in this group if they ever spread further South...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Oakhill Appartments is extremely well decorated and furnished. We had a very well equipped kitchen, which included a lovely welcome pack, no need to shop as soon as you arrive, we had plenty for at least two breakfasts and a few added extras - biscuits, crisps etc. The local bus service makes it very easy to get into the city centre within 10 minutes and there is a Tesco within 2 or 3 minutes walk. If I was to give any advice, I would suggest you take your earplugs as the Seagulls disturbed us at around 3am.
Otherwise fantastic and I really would recommend Oakhill Appartments!

Room Tip: I would suggest you take your earplugs as the Seagulls disturbed us at around 3am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,088 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,898 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#6 of 218 in Edinburgh
816 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakhill Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhill Apartments

Address: Thorntree Park | 3 Thorntreeside, Edinburgh EH6 8FE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $99 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oakhill Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for the business and leisure community Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh offer all the comforts of a hotel with the luxury of living space, quality service and excellent facilities. All our accommodation is fully equipped with state of the art kitchens, master bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, free private parking, Freeview television, free WiFi broadband and much, much more. Prices start from £79.00 per night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Oakhill Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakhill Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing