We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - we can't wait to stay here agin!”
Review of Oakhill Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakhill Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

By far the best holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in - deserves every one of the 5 stars!

Our apartment was beautifully decorated throughout and really well thought out. The breakfast basket was a lovely touch and the information pack was really helpful. The guy who checked us in was really helpful too and the loacation is fantastic for getting to the city centre and Leith, the No 35 is great for both areas and the bus stop is 100 yards up the road.

Fab, fab, fab, we can't wait to stay here again and would recommend these apartments to everyone!

Room Tip: If the other apartments are as good as ours was they will all be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abby1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 564 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was our third time staying at Oakhill Apartments. I have visited with my friends and also with my husband and two children. All the apartments are very family friendly. (Sky tv and free internet connection kept my two boys amused.) On each stay the apartments have been immaculate. The kitchen is well equipped and the welcome pack more than ample with milk, cereal, crisps etc. The beds are extremely comfortable and there was no noise. The decor is fab, very modern. There was always space in the free private parking and the apartments are reasonably central. (We walked to Dynamic Earth.) All in all excellent, couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SusanMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I took my girlfriend to Edinburgh for her 21st birthday and booked 2 nights at the Oakhill Apartments. The apartment was absolutely lovely and the decor was beautiful. The bed was so comfy we never actually wanted to get up in the morning! The kitchen had all the facilities for cooking, we had a fry up for breakfast one morning and had all the tools required. There is a Tesco superstore a few minutes walk from the apartments for everything you could need. A taxi to the town centre (Waverley bridge) cost us £5.10 in the afternoon and not much more at night. The bus is always an option and the number 1 bus stop is a short walk from the hotel. We had one issue with the bath tub plug stuck , not allowing the water to drain from the tub. Upon informing reception they had a look and contacted a plumber (who couldnt visit till the next day). They did drain the water and leave a measuring jug on the toilet floor and a knife they had attempted to prise the plug out with in the kitchen sink. They offered us another room but as we already had another shower in the room we didnt feel the need to swap. Our apartment was left unlocked by a member of staff though when they were trying to fix the bath. This was an irritant but the complex requires a front door key anyway.
Would go back here anyway as for the price it beggars belief. A must.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JamesBates11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We have just returned from spending four nights at the Oakhill Apartments in Edinburgh and would have been happy to spend longer there.

The quality of the apartment and its fittings is very high and the on-site reception is welcoming and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

The 'Welcome Basket' was plentiful and comprehensive and the other facilities - free WiFi, telephone, Sky+, fluffy towels etc - made the stay a 'home from home'.

The position of the apartments is good. We were able to walk each day to the centre of Edinburgh or to Leith harbour.

All in all to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We loved our stay at Oakhill. Our apartment was very nicely decorated, brand new and spotless. We had a little balcony too. The check in guy was friendly and helpful. There is a Tesco across the road and the buses were very easy and efficient. It was nice to get the bus into town with the locals. Overall we would totally recommend anyone stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josefina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Could not believe that the website photos were as good as the real thing but in fact they may have been better! As a seasoned traveller I am well used to looking at websites and seeing gorgeous photos only to realise that when I get there they never live up to it......This is the exception! It is exquisitely decoracted and beautifully spacious. I loved these apartments and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Butterfly1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Three of us stayed here while we attended a wedding in Edinburgh. It was a good base for friends staying together as you have a lovely spacious lounge to relax in. I would agree that with a previous reviewer that perhaps not quite at 5 star standards - for example our apartment (no. 4) smelt very strongly of bacon when we arrived - to the extent that when we were in the flat we had to have all the windows open and it lingered all weekend. Also the shower was very weak and the duvet/pillows weren't 5 star standard.
However, the place is spotlessly clean, the welcome basket was a lovely touch and the staff were very healthy and pleasant. There is also a very handy guide to edinburgh which makes this a supremely functional place to stay when visiting edinburgh.
For groups of friends/families, it is very convenient and works much better than a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#5 of 218 in Edinburgh
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakhill Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhill Apartments

Address: Thorntree Park | 3 Thorntreeside, Edinburgh EH6 8FE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $110 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oakhill Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for the business and leisure community Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh offer all the comforts of a hotel with the luxury of living space, quality service and excellent facilities. All our accommodation is fully equipped with state of the art kitchens, master bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, free private parking, Freeview television, free WiFi broadband and much, much more. Prices start from £79.00 per night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oakhill Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakhill Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing